Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2011, 09:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


My treadmill just started popping the GFI breaker. The treadmill is only two months old and otherwise works fine. I used an extension cord and ran it to another circuit and it did not pop the breaker. I decided to try it with the extension cord to the original circuit and the breaker does not pop. Does that make any sense?

GD Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:21 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,855
Rewards Points: 2,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


What is the ampacity of the circuit breaker? Is it popping the GFCI or the breaker overload? Electronics in speed control will often fool the GFCI into tripping for a fault.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:29 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


It's a 15 amp breaker and also has a computer on the circuit. I unplugged the computer and it made no difference. The GFI is the breaker type and it trips it.
Thanks
GD Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:46 AM   #4
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,524
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


GD, Welcome to the Forum

Here is a little GFI Tester I made to help analyze nuisance trips.
.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 10:17 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


Like joed asked, you need to find out if the breaker portion is tripping from Ampacity overload, or the gfci portion is tripping due to a possible ground fault.

Try using your extension cord to plug it into a gfci outlet, see if anything trips.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 11:01 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


if you read your manual on the treadmill i am sure it says to not use on a gfci circuit
awdblazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 11:24 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


Andrew
I didn't understand joed comment until I did a little investigating. The breaker is a Sqaure D Homeline AFCI. The way I understand it is that a AFCI is a little different design than a GFCI however would give me the same problems. The manual does specify not to plug into a GFCI outlet. (good comment awdblazer).
As far as whether it's the breaker portion or the AFCI portion that is tripped, I assumed they were tied together. The breaker switch is tripped and needs to be reset. The blue push button does not need reset. Does that mean that its tripping on over amperage? It's actually my son's treadmill and he's 50 miles away so I can't do much much troubleshooting today. It does not make any sense to me why it trips without an extension cord however when I plugged one in it runs fine. Its a 12 gauge 25 foot extension cord. I guess in 2002 there was a new code that specified that all bedroom outlets have to be on a AFCI circuit. He (my son) says that's the only place they have to put the treadmill. I think he's going to have to come up with another plan for it.
Thanks,
Garry
GD Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 11:43 AM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,855
Rewards Points: 2,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


What size circuit does it say to use? Many tread mills require a 20 amp circuit. They could work on a 15 amp circuit but if close to the limit it might or might not trip the breaker.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 12:55 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


It specifies in the manual that a 15 amp circuit with nothing else on it. Tried unplugging everything on the circuit and made no difference.
GD Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 01:16 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


When you ran the ext. coed, did you plug into another afci circuit?
Have you been using it for 2 mionths and it just started tripping the breaker?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 01:28 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


It has been used since mid November and just started tripping breakers. I first used the extention cord to run it to another circuit in an adjacent room and it did not trip. I thought that I had it a bad breaker but decided to use the extension cord on the original gfi circuit and it did not trip. I found this odd so ran it again without the cord and it tripped within a minute. Put the cord back on and it ran for 20 minutes with me on it at about 6 MPH and did not trip. ??
GD Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:34 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


Does anyone know if there ia a device, a type of filter, that can be used between a treadmill and an outlet that will filter nuisance frequency spikes that are tripping a AFCI breaker. It sounds like this is somewhat of a common problem since it is now a requirement to use these breakers on circuits that feed bedrooms. Like I stated in an earlier blog, when using an extension cord plugged into the same outlet it does not trip. I assum it acts as an inductance filter.
GD Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 11:07 PM   #13
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,524
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by GD Lee View Post
Does anyone know if there ia a device, a type of filter, ........?
Not a pi filter but a good quality power Isolation Transformer with a low inter winding capacitance should do the trick. What are the treadmill power requirements?
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 03-19-2011 at 11:14 PM.
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:19 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


Ive seen this problem plenty of times. What else on the circuit with the gfi breaker. Anytime a homeowner had this problem they plugged their treadmill into an unknowingly maxed circuit. Find out what else is also on the circuit, you may need its own dedicated circuit.
killadelphia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 05:34 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


I'll try an isolation transformer. Any suggestion to make and model? That would be an easy fix. Its located upstairs and a dedicated circuit would be difficult and with the AFCI requirement I'm afraid a dedicated circuit may not fix the problem unless there are neutrals tied together somewhere in the circuit. Thats something I will look at. thanks

GD Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deck nails popping! Replace with screws? sliver108 Carpentry 7 07-21-2010 10:33 PM
Popping noise in the flat roof mtrx Building & Construction 6 03-15-2010 10:18 PM
Treadmill outlet TANC Electrical 3 02-02-2010 09:53 PM
Only one outlet will power treadmill? archer75 Electrical 17 05-05-2009 12:20 AM
Loud Popping Noises - when HVAC is Turned On. San Fran HVAC 2 01-04-2008 09:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.