Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2010, 07:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Treadmill outlet


I have a bedroom I have turned into an exercise room. 3 walls and the light in the room are on a 15 amp outlet. The 4th wall is on a different outlet, also 15 amp. All the wiring is loomed in white, appears to be 14 gauge.

I have put a treadmill in the room and while I can run on it every time I land (i.e. put load on the motor) the lights in the room dim but never trips to breaker. It may just be in my head, but I feel like the lights dim, the treadmill slows just a little bit. The treadmill has a 15 amp breaker on the body of it, itself.

Can I get this on a 20 amp breaker just in place of the 15? Doesn't seem safe to me. .

Any other ideas? Am I just stuck?

TANC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 07:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Treadmill outlet


You can't put a 20a breaker on a 15a circuit if it has 14g wire

How much power does the treadmill pull ?
What did the Mfg instructions state is required for a power circuit ?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 09:44 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Treadmill outlet


Your concerns about the breaker size are justified as Dave eluded to. The breaker exists to protect the wire from overload. A 14ga wire is only good for 15 amps. With a 20 amp breaker on that 14ga wire, your wire could potentially burn up under overload without the breaker ever tripping. Not good!

Might want to look into running a separate circuit for the treadmill, or perhaps a short extension cord to a receptacle in an adjacent area of them home under less electrical load while the treadmill is in use.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 09:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Treadmill outlet


I have a treadmill that would dim the lights, especially when starting up or changing to higher speed. But never seemed to affect the treadmill itself. This was in another house, it's now on a low usage 20a circuit with no lights on the circuit.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
Only one outlet will power treadmill? archer75 Electrical 17 05-05-2009 12:20 AM
Treadmill on GFCI outlet? fw2007 Electrical 13 10-21-2008 01:49 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.