Transition From NM To THWN - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2009, 04:51 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Transition from NM to THWN


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
That makes sense. I know what you mean about the siding. Just staple the wires close to where they enter the conduit nipple. Seal the pipe on both ends with some duct seal or foam. Call it a day.
If you mean staple the wires to the stud, I can't since the only access to the wall cavity is through the little 1 1/4" hole....

I bought some stuff and came up with a few different ideas. I think I'll just leave it as is and if the inspector has a problem I can pull out the bag of stuff and pitch each idea to him.

1) Attach a blue box (ceiling or 1 gang) inside the 6x6 and run the cables through the integrated tab clamps to secure them

2) Take the metal ^-^ type clamps out of a metal box and screw them into the back of the box, run the wires under them.

3) Screw a 1 1/4" "raintight hub" to the back (flat plate including with threaded female center for those who don't know) and thread a 1 1/4" connecter into it....but is it okay to clamp 4 romex together in that?

4) Attach a short piece of wood or composite inside the box and staple the wires to it.

In hindsight I don't know how I would have done it differently. Any other method would have meant cutting away a bunch of vinyl siding and framing it out with j channel for water diversion.

Advertisement

Miranda7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 08:33 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Transition from NM to THWN


Dear god, PLEASE don't put a box of wood inside the Jbox.

If you do, please take a pic for the "worst installation ever" contest

Code says that cables must be "secured to the enclosure" so if you are really worried, fill the hole with caulk. When dry, it will "secure" the cables.

I install boxes in this fashion all the time without securing the conductors to the back of the box. Although illegal, It's never been mentioned. Make your work clean and they won't even look into it.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 06:43 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Transition from NM to THWN


LOL! I wouldn't want that award! I am going to call for an inspection this week. I am confident everything is to code except the details
I have asked about here (6x6 box and AFCI's for gen panel). Work includes the generator subpanel, and four new circuits which come through that box we discussed (a septic pump/alarm, aboveground pool, and two outdoor lighting circuits prewired for future deck, and future covered porch) .

My permits required final inspection only (no rough needed), Should I remove load panel covers and all box covers for viewing? Or should I just leave them on and remove them when and where asked?

Advertisement

Miranda7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engineered Hardwood: Inlaid transition? SteveSmith98 Flooring 6 03-24-2009 12:21 PM
hardwood to tile transition navychief39 Flooring 8 03-04-2009 07:32 AM
Carpet/Linoleum transition Crashz Flooring 2 07-17-2008 04:37 PM
1.75" room / floor transition MrLinux Flooring 1 03-11-2008 03:19 PM
Need some transition moulding advice... confused Flooring 4 08-24-2006 05:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts