Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2010, 06:16 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Transformer Question


I have a home alarm system that uses a plug-in wall transformer with screw terminal output. The transformer has gone bad and I am having trouble finding a similar one to replace it with. Here is the information:

Basler Electric
Primary - 120V, 60HZ, 0.43A
Secondary - 16.5VAC, 35VA

Does anyone know where I can find one with those specs? If not, is it OK to use one that has an output of 16.5VAC but with 40VA instead? Thanks in advance for your help!

gatorinsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 06:36 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Default

Transformer Question


Yeah no problem.

SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 08:20 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Default

Transformer Question


The VA output is a measure of the maximum power the transformer is designed to supply. As long as the voltage output matches and the VA measurement is equal or greater to what you want to replace, you'll be good to go.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 12:38 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default

Transformer Question


Thanks for the replies. Are these types of transformers usually sold in local retailers or typically just sold online?
gatorinsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 12:45 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Default

Transformer Question


My first though would be some place like Radio Shack or other electrical supply house. Other places might be any retail outlet selling replacement parts for electronics. Even Wal-Mart sells some transformers.

However, there is one more very important thing to look for. I just noticed that you listed the existing transformer as 16.5 VAC (volts Alternating Current). Most transformers are going to generate a DC voltage (Direct Current). So you not only have to match voltage, you also have to match the fact you need an AC output.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Central Ac transformer question Rschrei518 HVAC 4 10-20-2008 08:21 PM
Low Voltage/Transformer Question Philb Electrical 3 09-12-2008 07:16 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
Pole Transfomer size question dmarando Electrical 10 07-31-2008 09:09 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.