Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2009, 10:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

transformer location


I'm planning to install a new doorbell system and I'd like to know if I can put the transformer in the attic. It's sort of accesible, that is if you want to go up a 15' ladder and scoot accross the beams.

Also if it's OK, can I buy one that's safe with insulation blown in after the fact?

One final question. Is voltage drop much of a problem with doorbells? The buttons and chimes will be spread out over some lengths. Thanks

william p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 04:50 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

transformer location


Yes you can put the transformer anywhere you would like. They are mostly installed along side of the panel. How far from the transformer is it to the chime?

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 05:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default

transformer location


Possibly 30 feet away. I hear a lot of folks put the transformer next to the pannel but I plan on tapping into a branch circuit above the living room.

Also, do you know if I run two chimes if I then need to double the required voltage of the transformer?
william p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 05:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,197
Default

transformer location


Quote:
Originally Posted by william p View Post
Possibly 30 feet away. I hear a lot of folks put the transformer next to the pannel but I plan on tapping into a branch circuit above the living room.

Also, do you know if I run two chimes if I then need to double the required voltage of the transformer?
Two chimes do not require more voltage. You might want to get a transformer that can deliver more current, if you expect both chimes to be ringing at once.
Some transformers have two sets of output terminals for powering more than one chime.

If both chimes are contained within one unit, you shouldn't even need double taps. You will have a common, and one terminal for each chime.

FW
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comfortmaker RPJ - Bad Transformer? olgranddad HVAC 2 12-26-2008 11:10 AM
When a pole transformer goes bad KE2KB Electrical 39 12-03-2008 09:44 PM
Westinghouse Outdoor Transformer Question dandy Electrical 3 11-01-2008 01:53 PM
Central Ac transformer question Rschrei518 HVAC 4 10-20-2008 08:21 PM
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-21-2007 11:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.