Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2012, 09:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


Anybody heard of this? I found a transformer on line, wanted to see if anyone has done this. Thanks
tbone1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,495
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


And why would you want to?
It's not likly any home will even have 3 ph 480 to convert.

Last edited by joecaption; 01-17-2012 at 09:48 PM.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


Well I actually work as an Industrial power plant technician and I have new bandsaw that came in and it is 230 1ph and the old one was 480 3 ph. So instead of finding a different panel to run wire from I want to just transform and be done.
tbone1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:33 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,475
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


It is done all the time, but sounds like you may be in over your head.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:35 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


@jbfan..how do you figure i'm in over my head?
tbone1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:38 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,475
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


Quote:
Originally Posted by tbone1 View Post
@jbfan..how do you figure i'm in over my head?
First thing you asked was if anyone had heard of transforming 3 phase 480v to single phase 230.

That tells me you don't have a lot of experience in electrical.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:50 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


I've done step up and down transforming with A/C and D/C but I've never seen it done from 3ph to 1ph.
I've worked in aviation for 24 years working on ground power generators and electrical systems, 400Hz 220 and 120 volt systems.
Commercial power is basically the same but with some differences.
tbone1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 10:42 PM   #8
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,494
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


I think what JB was getting at is you cannot transform 480 3 into 230 1. You can however, transform 480 1 into 230 1.

Generally speaking, such a transformer will be 480 to 240, not 230.

And yes, this is done on a regular basis in industrial plants.

You'll need to protect the primary of the transformer from overcurrent, ground faults and short circuits. Since it is two-wire in and two-wire out, the secondary will be protected by the primary protection, and does not need it own.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 12:48 AM   #9
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,447
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


In every reasonably large commercial building, ALL of the 120V power comes from a 480V 3ph service. Almost every large building has transformers that provide 120/208 3ph or 120/240 1ph from the 480V 3ph service. You really need to have an electrician do this. 480V systems are NOT safe to work on without substantial knowledge and experience - especially in industrial facilities where the fault current is very high and arc flash is a major hazard. I'm all in favor of people learning things and gaining experience, but working on 480V systems in industrial plants is not the way to do it.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 01:15 AM   #10
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,052
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind
You can however, transform 480 1 into 230 1.



Rob
I don't do commercial but if I had to take a guess his single phase would be 277v not 480v. Now to the op, industrial questions should be posted on electriciantalk.com
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 01:36 AM   #11
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,447
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
I don't do commercial but if I had to take a guess his single phase would be 277v not 480v. Now to the op, industrial questions should be posted on electriciantalk.com
There are two ways to connect the transformer, but both use 480V on the primary. You either use a 1ph 480V:120/240V transformer, with two phases on the primary, or you use a 480V:240V high-leg delta 3ph transformer with a delta-connected 480V primary.

A 480V primary is always used because it spreads the load across two of the three phases instead of just one.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 03:58 AM   #12
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,052
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton

There are two ways to connect the transformer, but both use 480V on the primary. You either use a 1ph 480V:120/240V transformer, with two phases on the primary, or you use a 480V:240V high-leg delta 3ph transformer with a delta-connected 480V primary.

A 480V primary is always used because it spreads the load across two of the three phases instead of just one.
If it is a 480v primary that is phase to ground or phase to phase? I'm assuming phase to phase which would be a 277/480 service?
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 06:14 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,475
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


Phase to phase on 480v is 480v, phase to gorunded conductor is 277v.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 06:16 AM   #14
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,052
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan
Phase to phase on 480v is 480v, phase to gorunded conductor is 277v.
That makes sense so what he would need is a 277 to 230 transformer.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 07:13 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,781
Default

Transform 3ph 480 vac to 1ph 230 vac


Is there any such thing as a 240/480 volt 3 phase high leg system?

The answer would not be relevant if the OP uses a 480 to 240 volt single phase transformer or even a 480 to 240 volt 3 phase transformer if the latter was a super eBay bargain.

Since the old saw was 3 phase 480 volt they had to have had 3 phase 480 volt power at that location.

By the way, for a 3 phase system or 3 phase circuit with a single voltage stated, that is the phase to phase voltage.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-18-2012 at 09:33 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transform Ceiling Beam to Oak Color WorkerBee Painting 1 01-06-2008 03:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.