Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-14-2005, 04:15 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Transfer Switching

A friend uses a generator to power his house during failures, but he doesn't use a Trans switch, He runs a 230V cord to his dryer plug and says to switch off the Main breaker [as to not backfeed] and all the other circuits that won't be needed and only 1 or 2 that are

Is this safe to do it this way?
Seems logical, but don't like to take chances
TIA>RC

Cape8p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 06:51 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 542

Transfer Switching

First let me say that I am NOT an electrician and I'm not 100% sure what the legalities of this are, or what the NEC has to say about it. It's fine to go back to the dryer outlet, but remember the power doesn't know where it should and shouldn't go, it will go into the house but it will also go back out to the main line. I think any transfer switch should be automatic. Relying on a person (any person who can make mistakes, forget, etc.) to do such an important thing is a bad idea. Take it from someone who has a bad memory, you wouldn't want to rely on ME to keep you alive if you were working out on the line.

The electricians will be along sometime and can answer more thoroughly, but that's my opinion.

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 07:08 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,248

Transfer Switching

It is not leagal nor is it safe. Even swiitching off the main does not break the netural wire. People have been killled because of this very reason. The only way to do this without a transfer switch is use cord and connect directly into the genset.
Old 12-14-2005, 08:27 PM   #4

Transfer Switching