Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2013, 11:42 AM   #16
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,252
Share |
Default

Transfer switch question.


How many more years are you trying to get out of those 40 year old breakers ? 60-70 bucks would replace them all.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:03 PM   #17
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,216
Default

Transfer switch question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
How many more years are you trying to get out of those 40 year old breakers ? 60-70 bucks would replace them all.
What's wrong with them?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:17 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

Transfer switch question.


If you have a panel with multiple small transfer switches and you connect up a multiwire branch circuit to two of those little transfer switches and one of them is set to generator power and the other is set to utility power and there is a 240 volt appliance on the MWBC then it is possible to feed generator power up into the utility lines.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:23 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Transfer switch question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by NJMarine View Post
I answered that in my first post.
You would could install a handle tie on the circuit breakers at positions a&b or intall a 2 pole breaker. The relaince handle tie is connect to the corresponding section in GEN- OFF-Line section.
I guess what I find the confusing point (and I totally blame myself for this) is it seems you are saying I need a handle tie on the breakers in position A & B for both the circuit breakers and the Gen-Off-ON part of the transfer switch.

I'm thinking since the shared neutral circuit breakers in the service panel are not tied together...then that configuration should be duplicated in the transfer switch...two separate A & B breakers (no ties) below and the Gen-Off-Line switch above (A & B position) is the only part handle tied.

If I am wrong here please explain why so I can get a clearer understanding.
Thanks,
Bob
Adster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 02:24 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

Transfer switch question.


The purpose of the handle tie for the panel breaker for the multiwire branch circuit is so that someone working on the circuit does not flip off one breaker and forget to flip off the other and the work area and neutral are still live.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 03:52 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,435
Default

Transfer switch question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Adster View Post
That's exactly what the manufacturers instructions say to do. My only area of fuzziness that I need clarification on is the handle tie. It goes on the Gen-Off-Line upper section of the transfer switch...right?
It would go on the transfer switch, and you would need to put a tie on the breakers also if you are using their single pole breakers for a 240 volt circuit.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 06:24 PM   #22
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Transfer switch question.


Off subject ... but something is bugging me about the panel guts ? I thought the older tan CH panels had a notched rail and were the same color as the can ?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 07:13 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,435
Default

Transfer switch question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Off subject ... but something is bugging me about the panel guts ? I thought the older tan CH panels had a notched rail and were the same color as the can ?
Can't say. I can't remember the color of my girl friends eyes half the time. LOL
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (03-02-2013)
Old 03-02-2013, 08:02 PM   #24
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 724
Default

Transfer switch question.


Another off subject...(sorry) What exactly are those cloth-covered conductors in the panel? With the house being from 1933 I was thinking knob and tube, but I see both black and white wires.

Also, I don't know that much about transfer switches, but I would think that you would need to use a handle-tie for the two MWBC breakers, that way both would always be on either generator or utility power at the same time. Is this correct or am I totally off?
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 08:04 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,435
Default

Transfer switch question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
Another off subject...(sorry) What exactly are those cloth-covered conductors in the panel? With the house being from 1933 I was thinking knob and tube, but I see both black and white wires.

Also, I don't know that much about transfer switches, but I would think that you would need to use a handle-tie for the two MWBC breakers, that way both would always be on either generator or utility power at the same time. Is this correct or am I totally off?
Yep, they need to have the handle ties. The OP wa asking about that.

Not sure about those cloth insulated wires either.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 08:42 PM   #26
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,881
Default

Transfer switch question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yep, they need to have the handle ties. The OP wa asking about that.

Not sure about those cloth insulated wires either.
Most likely the OP has BX in his place, since that would date around the time, that it was used. Our place was built around 1937, and had BX in it. Still have some in areas that we have not torn into walls yet to replace it with Romex.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (03-02-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s). Deck Electrical 22 01-14-2012 04:21 PM
Furnace pressure switch line/nipple question aparman HVAC 4 12-31-2011 04:27 PM
Portable Generator Transfer Switch Question Dave_T Electrical 1 11-21-2011 05:08 PM
Another 3-way switch question. perpetual98 Electrical 10 07-21-2009 11:16 AM
automatic transfer switch question Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Electrical 2 11-11-2008 08:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.