Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2009, 09:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Transfer switch to main panel connection


I'm going to stray from my original thread and ask if this is possible....

Can I take a 6-circuit switch like this one



And use the double pole 240V circuit, and tie into the double pole breaker in my #2&4 slot to feed the entire main box?

Just like the Interlock kit but using one of the switches like the pic.

The remaining circuits on the transfer switch will not be used.

Only reason I may take this route is from the kit prices, just curious.

Also, would doing this void a warranty or not be to code or does a 240V circuit have to feed a 240 breaker and not the entire panel?

i6pwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 11:21 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Transfer switch to main panel connection


If you go this route, there is nothing to stop current from flowing back into your main and out of your house. What the interlock does is ensure that when the breaker from the generator is on, it is impossible to turn the main on, and vice versa.

With the way you are proposing here, there is no way to lock the main in the off position.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 05:56 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Transfer switch to main panel connection


In the pic above, you cannot have the main and gen on at the same time, thus preventing a backfeed. There is a bracket that won't allow the switches to move towards each other which is on for both.
i6pwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 06:09 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Transfer switch to main panel connection


When he said "main" he's talking about the main breaker in your service panel. You're still not interlocking the main breaker on your service panel.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manual transfer switch to power an existing sub-panel joestewart Electrical 10 11-23-2009 02:30 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
1 phase generator feeding a 2 phase transfer switch MAP40 Electrical 12 01-01-2009 07:38 AM
Determining Main Panel Load with Subpanel added Randell Tarin Electrical 2 04-11-2008 01:21 PM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.