Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 09:48 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Transfer Switch Install for Portable Generator


Hi, after superstorm Sandy, we have ordered a 7500W Generac portable generator and a $300 8-10 line transfer switch - all on back-order of course. We have a 200 amp circuit breaker board with about 35 circuits listed, house is 12 years old. My electrical question - most transfer switch seem to only have 6 lines, will I have enough lines to have the generator connected to the board for my electric furnace, well pump, fridge/freezer, security system, and 2 rooms including TV, FIOS connection, lights and some kitchen appliances?

twak21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:13 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,215
Default

Transfer Switch Install for Portable Generator


Well pump,2 circuits,furnace 1. fridge 1, the rest chase out. I like to use a 12 circuit sub panel with an interlock kit that gives you 8 spaces to use.

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:14 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,675
Default

Transfer Switch Install for Portable Generator


Furnace no way.
Well pump could be pushing it.
What kind of kitchen applances?
You are looking at 30 amps at 240 volt with maybe a surge to 35 amps.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:42 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Transfer Switch Install for Portable Generator


Thanks! We should have enough power for the survival equipment (furnace, well pump, fridge) and 2 rooms, microwave plus potentially the oven, added it all up to make sure we had capacity. The generator peaks at 9400 watts. Sounds like 10 circuits for the transfer switch should work? The fridge shares a GFI circuit with the TV for some reason.
twak21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:02 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,675
Default

Transfer Switch Install for Portable Generator


Is the furnace gas or electric?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:04 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Transfer Switch Install for Portable Generator


Electric furnace/boiler
twak21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:14 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,675
Default

Transfer Switch Install for Portable Generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by twak21 View Post
Electric furnace/boiler
I doubt that will run on that size generator.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
generator transfer switch neutral soma Electrical 17 11-16-2011 06:24 AM
Transfer switch for furnace? KE2KB Electrical 10 11-14-2011 09:31 AM
Standby Generator & Transfer Switch JRoot Electrical 9 06-12-2011 09:14 AM
Portable Generator Electrical Ground Earnie Electrical 35 01-18-2011 04:53 PM
1 phase generator feeding a 2 phase transfer switch MAP40 Electrical 12 01-01-2009 07:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.