Transfer Switch For Generator - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2013, 07:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Transfer Switch for Generator


I have 2 electric meters outside and 2 side-by-side electric panels in my basement. Is there a way to hook up a transfer switch for a generator to circuits from both of the panels without moving the circuits?

Advertisement

Dave_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Transfer Switch for Generator


Yes, but you will need two transfer switches or transfer mechanisms, one for each panel.

The advantage of moving circuits to receive generator power to a subpanel is that you don't have to coordinate with the power company to install the transfer switch in the feed line above the main panel and going to the meter. You will still need two transfer switches if you group the circuits that will receive generator power in separate subpanels, one for each main panel and meter.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-29-2013 at 07:22 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Transfer Switch for Generator


You can't have 2 transfer switches hooked up to a single generator, can you?
Dave_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Transfer Switch for Generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_T View Post
You can't have 2 transfer switches hooked up to a single generator, can you?
You can run two tools off one gennie. I don't see the problem. But I may find out
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,721
Rewards Points: 2,402
Default

Transfer Switch for Generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_T View Post
I have 2 electric meters outside and 2 side-by-side electric panels in my basement. Is there a way to hook up a transfer switch for a generator to circuits from both of the panels without moving the circuits?

Yes you can !
You would need a special type of switch to do it !
A large capacity multi pole switch.
A normal standard type would not work.
Definatly not a job for diy'ers thou.
The switch will be expensive.

something like this
only bigger capacity
Name:  multi pole.jpg
Views: 155
Size:  7.7 KB
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 11:03 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Transfer Switch for Generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_T View Post
You can't have 2 transfer switches hooked up to a single generator, can you?
Sure, why not? You can have even more if you have the need ...
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 06:01 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Transfer Switch for Generator


How can you have 2 transfer switches connected to a generator? My transfer switch is connected to an outside outlet that has a cable that I connect to the generator during an outage. So I would need two outlets and two cables? I believe the connections on the generator allow only one cable of that type.
Dave_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:27 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Transfer Switch for Generator


Some portable generators have multiple outlets.

Many larger generators are direct-wired, and can have as many transfer switches as needed to satisfy Code requirements.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Transfer Switch for Generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_T View Post
How can you have 2 transfer switches connected to a generator? My transfer switch is connected to an outside outlet that has a cable that I connect to the generator during an outage. So I would need two outlets and two cables? I believe the connections on the generator allow only one cable of that type.
Both transfer switches, located at the respective panels they control, can be connected to the same line going to the outside outlet (male receptacle) to be fed by one generator.

Each transfer switch's common terminals are connected to the panel that the switch serves.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-30-2013 at 09:41 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
Dave_T (01-31-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hookup..Generator transfer switch to main & sub panel Dick461 Electrical 8 11-05-2012 03:09 PM
Transfer switch between two electric meters? kragan Electrical 16 10-17-2012 12:49 AM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-09-2011 12:00 AM
Meter Socket Manual Gen Transfer Switch Mainebob Electrical 3 05-11-2011 08:31 AM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 03:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts