Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2013, 07:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Transfer Switch for 220V


Morning,

I purchased an electric car and would like to install a 220V home charger. Running a new line to the box is a mess with the basement finishes. I have a 30A 220V circuit line adjacent to the garage. It is only used a couple hours a day. Is there a manual A/B type switch for 220V where I can pick the line to use? I see manual generator type switches for two inputs/one output; Could these be just wired two outputs/one input or is there something to prevent this?
Thanks.
Jerry
gcf61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 04:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

Transfer Switch for 220V


The line from the panel that feeds the garage receptacle to plug your car (or air conditioner or table saw or whatever into) cannot be the same line that your generator sitting outside your garage can feed power back to the panel in case of a power failure. You must have separate lines for those two functions.

Note that the car charger has a working amperes rating and a branch circuit maximum amperes rating. The power plug is sized to match. Your table saw or AC unit or whatever also has a working rating and a maximum circuit amperes rating. If the working amperes rating for one is greater than the maximum amperes rating for the other (or if their power plugs differ) then they cannot share the same circuit although you can have a subpanel in the garage with separate sub-branch circuits of appropriate amperes rating for each.

(A circuit may not daisy chain to different outlet boxes with respective receptacles of different amperes ratings. Exception: A 20 amp 120 volt circuit may have both 15 amp and 20 amp receptacles provided that if there is a 15 amp receptacle there must be a minimum of one duplex or two singles of either rating on the circuit.)
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-18-2013 at 04:20 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer switch question. Adster Electrical 25 03-02-2013 08:42 PM
Hookup..Generator transfer switch to main & sub panel Dick461 Electrical 8 11-05-2012 02:09 PM
Transfer switch between two electric meters? kragan Electrical 16 10-16-2012 11:49 PM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.