Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-20-2012, 08:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

Track lighting with no junction box


I'm trying to install track lighting in an area with no junction box, and there is not good place to install a junction box (duct work). Anyone know if a live end feed meant for conduit is suitable to be used as a junction box.

Example:

http://www.homedepot.ca/product/cond...n-white/992719

I notice is has a 1/2" knockout in it. Can I just install a romex clamp and make the connections in the little box? I'm assuming since it is meant for use with conduit, that the box is rated for connections inside it.

Any thoughts??
Attached Images
 
zubor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:20 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Track lighting with no junction box


Yup that's normally what you would use. Your track should have come with one.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
zubor (09-20-2012)
Old 09-20-2012, 08:29 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Default

Track lighting with no junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
Yup that's normally what you would use. Your track should have come with one.
Thanks Andrew.

I want to install it on the ceiling. I am going to run NMD90 above the ceiling and then out through a small hole in the drywall where I want the track. Can I drill a 1/2" hole in the box on the "top" (side that is flush with the ceiling) and run the NM cable into it that way?
Attached Thumbnails
Track lighting with no junction box-track.jpg  
zubor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:46 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,472
Default

Track lighting with no junction box


There may be a KO on the bottom, but if you have to drill a hole, it needs to be 7/8 for the clamp to fit.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
andrew79 (09-20-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dimmer for Halogen Track Lighting CompEngineer Electrical 2 12-04-2009 05:20 AM
Track Lighting Installation - No Electricty tazmajazz Electrical 11 10-19-2009 10:09 AM
LED track lighting feasible yet? GFW Electrical 8 01-22-2009 12:13 PM
Track Lighting newbie questions GFW Electrical 1 04-18-2008 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.