Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2010, 05:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Question

tracing wire


Is there any simple way for homeowner to trace an underground wire ?
Maybe renting?
14/2 UF no conduit

gbruhns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 06:15 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shirley, NY
Posts: 20
Default

tracing wire


They do make toners for this sort of thing but to buy them is really expensive. You can try calling your local electrical supply house and see if they rent them. Here are some made by amprobe.

http://amprobe.com/cgi-bin/pdc/searc...&action=search

lordlondis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 08:45 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

tracing wire


Otherwise you can get ahold of electrician some of them will have underground tracer unit for small fee for it and they will mark it down where it run and spot where the broken connection of the cable if need to.

I Have couple verison to use it and one can able go down deep as 2 to 3 meter deep { 6 to 9 Feet }

Typically most 2.5mm˛ twinners { 14-2 UF } typically buried about 12 to 18 inch deep as long it have RCD { GFCI } protected if not drop down to 18 to 24 inch deep { depending on your local area requirement }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 09:50 PM   #4
Retired Electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11
Default

tracing wire


I used a "finder" for years. Both in the electrical field and for a lot of plumbers that lost their pipes.....even found a septic tank (with a metal fish tape) that was not suppost to be there. It used a pulse wave (sender and reciever) (now I can't find anything because of old age) lol
Lsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 10:03 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

tracing wire


I rented a signal tracer at a Building Center to find some pipes under my basement floor.
You could try wichin' rods also.

http://sepwww.stanford.edu/sep/jon/dowsing.html

Last edited by Wildie; 11-09-2010 at 10:06 PM.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 06:41 PM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 09:16 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.