Tracing A Light Switch To An Outlet - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2006, 04:33 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Tracing a Light Switch to an Outlet


spam33, are there wire nuts inside the box? on the hot wires? If not then the above responses are not correct. Still thinking about what might be going on with your receptacles.

Advertisement

Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 02:26 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tracing a Light Switch to an Outlet


Well, it sucks, but I had to give up on this project. I now have a better understanding of how these things should be wired, but in this case it was a bit too risky for me to play around.

I cannot see any wire nuts inside the box, but I'm pretty sure they're probably located somewhere in the walls. If the wire setup was a bit more standardized, I might have been able to figure it out. Oh well!

I went ahead and purchased one of those remote light switches. I installed it right where the old one used to be (after putting a wire nut on each of the old cables), and it's working like a charm now. Thanks for all your help and for sticking through this whole thing....it's a shame we couldn't figure this one out.
spam33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 04:57 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Tracing a Light Switch to an Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by spam33
I pulled the tab to see what would happen, and the switch sort of worked. The bottom plug became an "always hot" outlet, and the top plug turned on and off with the switch. The problem is, now the next three plugs in the run also turn on and off at the switch. I assume this can easily be fixed by adjusting one or two of the wires. Any ideas as to which ones?

Thanks again!!!
Swap the black wire from the top to the bottom of the outlet and the bottom black wire to the top.

Advertisement

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 09:08 AM
Trying to replace wall mounted light fixture jtm2300 Electrical 4 08-03-2007 10:44 PM
Outlet controlled by switch Shardi Electrical 4 10-09-2005 07:24 PM
trying to wire a light and light switch off of an outlet imphishy Electrical 3 03-16-2005 10:04 PM
installing a light fixture on a switch controlled outlet Unregistered Electrical 1 02-24-2004 11:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts