Tracing Circuits - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2012, 11:04 AM   #1
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 28

Tracing Circuits

I almost always to all my own electrical, including upgrading and running new circuits. I have moved into a new office where the breaker panel is in the hallway across from my office. I have been given full permission to do electrical mods in my unit. Question is this. I do not wish to do the flip off breakers and see what runs my unit due to other units having computers and such. I know that you can get a breaker id unit. I have used them, but they are generally only good for plugs and light sockets. I have florescent light fixtures and wall switches that I would like to trace. How can I trace a light switch or a florescent light fixture without shutting off random breakers. Is there a device for this? Any help would be appreciated.


Hoshwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 11:25 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
gregzoll's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 16,008
Rewards Points: 5,376

Tracing Circuits

Get one of these|1 But problem is, since this is a commercial structure, your hands are tied for doing any type of electrical work, regardless what someone in the office told you.


Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 11:28 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
k_buz's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006

Tracing Circuits

How is that going to help find the fluorescent lighting circuits?
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.

k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 11:34 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,177
Rewards Points: 4,506

Tracing Circuits

I would not expect the lighting to be mixed with receptacles in a commercial building.

Contact a licensed contractor since this is a commercial structure.
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:09 PM   #5
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 3,360
Rewards Points: 3,680

Tracing Circuits

If he wants to find light circuits as well as power circuits,
he can just unscrew the switchs pull them out a little,
and then he can access the wires to trace.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFCI Help Please - Victorian w/ knob/tube - but running new circuits jefferson17 Electrical 4 06-27-2012 12:39 AM
Can I run several circuits through the same conduit? JeepNick Electrical 19 02-16-2012 04:47 PM
Moving multiwire circuits WillK Electrical 5 06-21-2011 08:12 PM
Split receptacles, double pole breakers and multiple circuits in a junction box. morganhammer Electrical 6 04-05-2011 05:38 PM
short circuit. reset the breaker, but no power bp91708 Electrical 10 03-18-2011 11:07 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts