Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2010, 05:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


I have a 200 amp panel. On the 110v side, is it acceptable by code for the sum of the breakers to exceed 200 amps? I have more than 10 lines coming into the box (15 actually) and would like to consider using 5 tandem breakers, but the total of the breakers would add up to more than 200 amps. I have considered running two wires into a wire nut and then some pigtails into existing breakers. Basically, which would be better??

xraydido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 06:03 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


The sum of the breakers mean nothing.
Before adding tandoms, you must make sure your panel will accept them.
What model panel do you have?

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 06:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


It is a Siemens and I know that it will take tandems. Any opinion on which is better - tandems or wire nutting two lines to a pigtail - or is it just a matter of perference?
xraydido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 07:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Question

Total of Circuit Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by xraydido View Post
It is a Siemens and I know that it will take tandems. Any opinion on which is better - tandems or wire nutting two lines to a pigtail - or is it just a matter of perference?
Quality wise it's the same. There is no difference. But on a tandem breaker, you'll get a few extra amps. (But common sense tells not to use any of the tandems to the max. Especially continuous loads. Even when the load calculations meet code requirements. Because after all, the tap from the Bus bar is designed for one breaker.!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 07:14 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,696
Rewards Points: 2,190
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


A tandem is two breakers in one housing. This would allow two circuits in the space of one.

Pigtails are used to combine two wires.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 07:48 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Smile

Total of Circuit Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
A tandem is two breakers in one housing. This would allow two circuits in the space of one.

Pigtails are used to combine two wires.
Yes, JP. I'm aware of that. I pointed out to the OP that with a tandem breaker you get the advantage of an extra breaker (as opposed to just pigtailing two circuits to one breaker. There's no need (on my part) to repeat the rest of what I said about Tandem breakers. Because I have nothing to add at this time.!

Last edited by spark plug; 05-11-2010 at 07:49 PM. Reason: Missing letter/word (I).
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 08:25 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,696
Rewards Points: 2,190
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


My reply was to the OP. They seemed confused between pigtailing and a tandem.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 12:11 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


not confused, just want to know if either one is preferred. sounds like it is 6 of one / 1/2 dozen the other. i had a home inspection that picked up a few breakers with double taps - i did the repair using the pigtail method - i just wanted to know if using tandems (and thereby exceeding 200 amps of circuit breakers on the 110 side) was acceptable - it sounds like my existing repair is just as good as inserting tandems.
xraydido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 01:46 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


# of breakers = # of 'home runs'.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 02:27 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


?????? But what is his batting average ??????
xraydido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 04:03 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by xraydido View Post
?????? But what is his batting average ??????
TBD
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:07 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Red face

Total of Circuit Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by xraydido View Post
not confused, just want to know if either one is preferred. sounds like it is 6 of one / 1/2 dozen the other. i had a home inspection that picked up a few breakers with double taps - i did the repair using the pigtail method - i just wanted to know if using tandems (and thereby exceeding 200 amps of circuit breakers on the 110 side) was acceptable - it sounds like my existing repair is just as good as inserting tandems.
Square D does have one type of breaker (don't know the model#) that is not a tandem breaker, where you can officially connect Two wires to one terminal. (The terminal having a slot on both ends.)
On the subject of inserting more breakers that will exceed the total amperage. Why it is permitted. It is based on the fact that you (no one) will not use all the lights and equipment to the max. load at the same time. This is an issue that is confusing to most people who are not electricians. I had a customer (of a 1-Family residence) who argued with the utility (Con-Ed) rep. why they didn't increase his Service beyond 200 Amps. (The max. for residential service.) (Highly confusing)!

Last edited by spark plug; 05-12-2010 at 08:09 PM. Reason: Missing letter/word (a).
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:41 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
.... I had a customer (of a 1-Family residence) who argued with the utility (Con-Ed) rep. why they didn't increase his Service beyond 200 Amps. (The max. for residential service.) (Highly confusing)!
Did they tell him that if he needed that much juice he probably could not afford the electric bill?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 09:03 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Did they tell him that if he needed that much juice he probably could not afford the electric bill?
Hey, I was considering an upgrade to 320a based on my Christmas display
And, I "know" people on Christmas sites who have 400a JUST for their display
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 03:30 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Total of Circuit Breakers


And how does the electric bill for December compare to the rest of the year?

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Checking circuit load for recessed lighting Nathan0115 Electrical 12 05-07-2010 03:49 PM
One Circuit / Two Breakers? tjeieio Electrical 5 01-15-2010 05:50 PM
open circuit unknown location / voltage leakage fishmanflats Electrical 4 12-23-2009 09:04 PM
circuit breakers Yoyizit Electrical 4 02-18-2009 09:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.