Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2008, 08:04 PM   #1
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Torque


When installing breakers and such, I know that there are torque specs, but Im just wondering how many actually torque the wires as opposed to tightening really good?

I have torque wrenches lol that would do the job, but is it overkill?? Just a newbie question is all.

__________________
Im Not An Electrician...But I Did Stay At A Holiday Inn Express Last Night!!
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 08:12 PM   #2
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Torque


I would suggest to try a few times with a (not-in-use!) receptacle and a few pieces of 12g and 14g wire on the screw terminals to get the feel right. Once you know what to expect just continue that amount of tightness for other fittings. When the wire is tightened down, there should be no movement under the screw if you wiggle the wire. It depends on your hand and forearm strength to get it just right for you without using torqueing tools.

__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 08:45 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,626
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

Torque


With basic breakers, switches, recptacles and such I don't bother with a torque wrench. Even big wire lugs. Just tighten them down. I've broken enough screws and stripped out enough lugs over the years that I've get a pretty good idea just how far I can go.

With switchgear, especially medium voltage (over 600V, less than 35,000V), the bus splice plates, breaker mounting fingers, etc. always get torqued to specs. Usually a 'click type' torque wrench. Some engineers even want a calibration certificate on the torque wrench.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 09:57 PM   #4
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Torque


I use a torque wrench on any lug in a panel, switchgear, transformer and the like. Switches and receptacles I've never really bothered with, you can get the feel. I've only seen a torqueing screwdriver ONCE. I could not believe how much he said it cost. About $120.

The torque wrench provides you with the peace of mind that you are tightening things to specs. Not guessing. I've seen too many guys who think "gorilla tight" is an acceptable method of tightening lugs. They also seem surprised when they strip them.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:05 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Torque


My elbow pops when the right torque is reached...

InPhase277
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:10 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Torque


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
My elbow pops when the right torque is reached...

InPhase277
My elbow pops when I get up in the morning!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:16 PM   #7
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Torque


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
My elbow pops when I get up in the morning!
So you're always torqued?

InPhase277
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:54 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Torque


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
So you're always torqued?

InPhase277
You bet. Every morning when the clock goes off!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:31 AM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Torque


I use the grunt technique. One ughhhh is just about right. Two is pushing it.

I threw my clock away on 1/01/07.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 11:51 AM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Torque


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I threw my clock away on 1/01/07.
You beat me by 2 days. Now I work for me and I am never worried about being late. No need for a clock. I have a great boss.

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flywheel Censor On '96 Jeep Cherokee bobo60 Automotive Repairs 1 12-05-2007 12:39 PM
A torque question wavebuy1 Automotive Repairs 3 09-28-2007 04:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.