Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2008, 08:02 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Top receptical not working


In one room, the TOP plug on 3 recepticals just quit working. The bottom plug has power and working.

any suggestions?

DIYVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2008, 08:16 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Default

Top receptical not working


Sounds like a wall switch is off or bad.

hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2008, 09:17 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Top receptical not working


Wall switch?...does a wall switch control the TOP recepticle?
DIYVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2008, 09:20 AM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,541
Default

Top receptical not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYVa View Post
Wall switch?...does a wall switch control the TOP recepticle?
Or bottom, depends on who installed the circuit.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2008, 11:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 31
Default

Top receptical not working


Many, (if not all), wall outlets have a small tab that connects the two "hot" terminals together. This tab is designed so that you can put a flat-blade screwdriver into it and break it off so that the two outlets can be isolated. (So one can be controlled by a light switch.)

Its possible that the "tab" has broken free from age or . . . something.
Artie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 06:19 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Top receptical not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp58 View Post
Sounds like a wall switch is off or bad.

Especially if it's a newer house and these receptacles are under or close to a window, they do this for Christmas lights.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Washer Chem Feed Not Working robertr4836 Tools 11 11-24-2012 08:43 PM
Working with granite... SDeeter19464 Remodeling 5 06-14-2008 05:51 AM
GE fridge evaporator fan change and still not working Trish Appliances 2 03-30-2008 01:47 PM
three-way only working on one switch amydawn Electrical 11 07-11-2006 05:52 PM
Furnace stops working once a day - help Da_Bears HVAC 2 01-26-2006 01:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.