Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2010, 03:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

is this too much?


Looking at buying a electric fireplace insert. It says it has a 1350 watt heater (11.3amps). Now if I plug that in along w/ all the other stuff in that line ( tv, reciever,, blue ray) will it be to much for the 15 amp breaker? Or do I need to have it on its own supply? This is doable but I will have to tear off sheetrock to do so, not really happy about that but if nessasary will do.


Thanks for any help
rookie#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 04:03 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,475
Default

is this too much?


Depends on the power the tv and other things use, but it will be mighty close.
If this is something you want to use full time as heat, better alternatives are out there.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 04:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

is this too much?


jbfan,

It wouldn't be the full heat source, just to take the chill out of the air. We are finishing the basement off and we buit a bottom enter. center on the bottom. The ends were going to be used for storage, the next 2 are for compents, then in the center we were going to put in and electric fire place mostly for looks. We didn't want to do gas, but still want it to look nice. So we made the space big enough for an insert and then put some kind of stone or tile around it. Now that we found one we really like, as you can see it uses alittle more power than I was excepting. If there are diff. alternatives I'm interested, even thou I'm thinking you are talking about heat.



Thanks
rookie#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 06:17 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

is this too much?


I have see some fireplace insterst with larger electrique heater in there the last one I have see it have 4 KW heating elements in there { yeah if I recall it correct it have high and low setting in there as well }

That typically required a delecaited circuit nothing else on this one.

Otherwise a pellet stove insterst type will work.

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 11:01 PM   #5
RST
DIY Homeowner
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Default

is this too much?


If it's a receptacle circuit, it might be 20A.

Also this calculation could depend on the size/power needs of your TV - some of them require a lot of power.

Myself, I would not mix such an power-heavy device with electronics because of potential spikes when it cycles off and on. A lamp dimming is one thing, a TV another.

RST
RST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 08:23 AM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

is this too much?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I have see some fireplace insterst with larger electrique heater in there the last one I have see it have 4 KW heating elements in there { yeah if I recall it correct it have high and low setting in there as well }

That typically required a delecaited circuit nothing else on this one.

Otherwise a pellet stove insterst type will work.

Merci,
Marc
Marc, would this also fall under the 80% rule for continuous operation?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:23 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

is this too much?


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Marc, would this also fall under the 80% rule for continuous operation?
Yep I will treat that like continuous operation due some case it will be on more than 3 hours.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 02:08 PM   #8
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

is this too much?


You should really look into a 240 volt insert. In the long run it will work better and be more efficient.
The insert you are considering will need a 15 amp circuit by itself because it is considered a continuous load. 15 amps X 120 volts is 1800 watts. 1800 watts x 80% is 1440 watts.
Efficiency is another factor. Your 1350 watt insert will use 11.3 amps. 11.3 amps at 240 volts would give you 2712 watts. Just so you see the difference, 1350 watts at 240 volts only requires 5.6 amps.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.