Is This Too Much - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2008, 08:48 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hermitage Pa.
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is this too much


I have a main breaker box then another box in the garege.That one only has a 60 amp main breaker I am thinking this is not enough to run a baseboard heater from its 220 .So before I go spend the money on the heater I thought I would check here first Thanks

Advertisement

clasact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 08:56 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

is this too much


What else is fed from that box? What is the rating of the heater?

Advertisement

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hermitage Pa.
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is this too much


the one I was looking at is 1250 watts and 5.2 amps.The box has about a dozen outlets running to it but nothing big like a stove or dryer
clasact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:23 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

is this too much


What size is the breaker in the main panel that feeds this sub-panel?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:10 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hermitage Pa.
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is this too much


150amp I dont have any more room in that one though
clasact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:27 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

is this too much


Is the breaker(the one in the main) feeding the sub-panel a 60A?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 11:09 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hermitage Pa.
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is this too much


yes it is
clasact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 11:19 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

is this too much


Most likely you would be ok, but you should do a load calculation of the circuits on that panel and see how close you are going to be.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 12:28 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hermitage Pa.
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is this too much


thanks I will see what happens
clasact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 07:19 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hermitage Pa.
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is this too much


just to update this I did go and by a 5ft baseboard heater and got it all wired in.It did not trip any breakers but i am thinking it may ahve been a waste of money since it really is not putting out much heat.I dont expect it to heat the whole house but unless you put you hand right to the fins you cant even feel it.Could it be that I just dont have enough power off of that sub panel to make it work properly or is this all you get from one of these????
clasact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 07:22 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

is this too much


Quote:
Originally Posted by clasact View Post
just to update this I did go and by a 5ft baseboard heater and got it all wired in.It did not trip any breakers but i am thinking it may ahve been a waste of money since it really is not putting out much heat.I dont expect it to heat the whole house but unless you put you hand right to the fins you cant even feel it.Could it be that I just dont have enough power off of that sub panel to make it work properly or is this all you get from one of these????
A five foot electric might heat a small bedroom. What size room did you put it in? Did you get the 1250 watt one?

Last edited by jerryh3; 10-21-2008 at 07:32 AM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 07:55 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hermitage Pa.
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is this too much


yes the 1250 one in a room about 170 sqf.Like I said I didnt expect much but thought it would put out a little more then what I am getting
clasact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 07:59 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

is this too much


Just out of curiosity, what size wire did you run to this heater? And is this 120 or 240 volt?
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 08:01 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hermitage Pa.
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is this too much


its 240 I ran two 12-2 wires on 30amp breakers
clasact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 08:16 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

is this too much


Quote:
Originally Posted by clasact View Post
its 240 I ran two 12-2 wires on 30amp breakers
Whoa, first of all you cannot use 12 gauge wire on a 30 amp breaker! Second, are you running two heaters or just one? Why do you have 2 12-2 cables? If this heater is truly only 240 (no 120 volt fan or controls etc) then you only need one cable. Also, at 1250 watts this could easily be ran on a double pole 15 amp breaker (with your 12-2 wire). 1250 watts @ 240 volts is about 5 amps.

First thing you should do is change out the 30 amp breaker for a 15 amp double pole. Unless you plan on adding more heaters to this circuit, 15 amps should be enough for 2 heaters of the same size.

Advertisement

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts