Too Many Wires To Choose From(help) - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2008, 03:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

too many wires to choose from(help)


We had track lighting infront of the fireplace. Have a new light and 6 months down the road...dont remember which wires were used before. The condo was built in 2000. The wires we have are 2 white, 3 red, 3 green, 2 blue, 1 blue(there are all capped as mentioned). The light we are hanging has only the 3 wires.
Please help.(we are in Canada if that makes any difference for wiring)
Thankyou

Advertisement

joeandvicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 05:02 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

too many wires to choose from(help)


white to white green to green (copper) and I would guess that the black to the singal blue. turn off the power first main service disconect easyer and safer for you.

Advertisement

brad 134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 05:19 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

too many wires to choose from(help)


That would be my guess as well.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 09:35 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

too many wires to choose from(help)


what do we do with all the "left over" wires? Connect all the greens together, blues...etc? Thanks for the help with this. Would you have any idea at all why there are so many wires up there in the one hole? It cant be for a fan as it is so close to the wall.
joeandvicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 11:06 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

too many wires to choose from(help)


Do you remember why you disconnected all of the wires, instead of just the ones needed for the fixture?

In any case, it is impossible for anyone to say what wires go to your light without first knowing what each wire is. You need to get a tester and do some tests to figure out what wires are hot, what wires go to the switch, etc. Are you familiar with these tests and do you have a tester?

InPhase277
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 12:06 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

too many wires to choose from(help)


Prior to the new fixture, there was a track light . All that was removed was that to replace it with a new light. Whilst looking and looking to find the "right" light to replace, we no longer remember/lost the paper where we wrote down what was connected. Now all of those wires were not connected to the track light, that we remember.

We have connected up the light as suggested here and it is working. Thankyou so much for that. Just wondering though, why so many wires???
Do you suppose it is meant to be a three way switch somewhere? We have changed another light and there were just the regular amount of wires up there that easily corresponded with the new fixture. It is a modern concrete condo building . has anyone ever come across this before or even hazzard a guess as to what they could all be used for?

Thanking everyone for their input.
Cheers
joeandvicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 09:07 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

too many wires to choose from(help)


Quote:
Originally Posted by joeandvicki View Post
what do we do with all the "left over" wires? Connect all the greens together, blues...etc? Thanks for the help with this. Would you have any idea at all why there are so many wires up there in the one hole? It cant be for a fan as it is so close to the wall.
Leave them alone. They are used to feed other circuits or bring power to the fixture.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max number of wires you can splice together firemanpato Electrical 12 01-10-2008 07:46 PM
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-22-2007 12:08 AM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 10:38 PM
Running wires mt232 Electrical 4 03-22-2007 09:02 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts