Too Many Appliances On Tandem Breaker? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2013, 07:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 170
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


Ok so I have a 15amp tandem breaker that is currently powering a dishwasher, fridge and a garbage disposal. On the first pole is the fridge, which is drawing 8.5 amps and on the second pole is the garbage disposal (4.5amps) and the dishwasher (I removed it because it was dead, but possible from being overloaded?)


My question is do tandem breakers have 15 amps running on one pole or is it 15 amps total for both poles?

Advertisement

word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:24 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,239
Rewards Points: 2,388
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


Each pole is rated at 15 amps.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 170
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


so 30 amps total? I just want to be clear
word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:41 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,239
Rewards Points: 2,388
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by word2yamutha View Post
so 30 amps total? I just want to be clear
Not the proper way to express it, it is 15 amps per pole. Or if you want, you can wire 2 15 amp 120 VAC circuits off that tandem breaker.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:43 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by word2yamutha View Post
so 30 amps total? I just want to be clear
No, 15 amps each.
They are considered serperate breakers.
Haven't we had this discussion?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:51 PM   #6
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,669
Rewards Points: 2,096
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


It has always been my impression that a refrigerator, and a dishwasher are supposed to be on their own separate 20 amp circuit. Not sure about the GD.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:58 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 170
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


Well where I live at there aren't any codes that have to be followed. Yes we have had this discussion before, but I just recently found out that the dishwasher is on the same circuit as the garbage disposal.

I was looking into purchasing a new dishwasher, but I was wondering if it would be too much for the breaker to handle?
word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:17 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,239
Rewards Points: 2,388
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by word2yamutha View Post
Well where I live at there aren't any codes that have to be followed.
Most places have codes to be followed. They are often ignored and/or not enforced very well.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:48 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 429
Rewards Points: 268
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


My dishwasher is on its own 15a circuit but my fridge is on the same 20a circuit as 5 other outlets in my kitchen and my house is only 12 years old - so go figure.
__________________
Central New Jersey Area
adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:56 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by adgjqetuo View Post
My dishwasher is on its own 15a circuit but my fridge is on the same 20a circuit as 5 other outlets in my kitchen and my house is only 12 years old - so go figure.
That is code compliant provided the other receps are for the countertop and there is another 20 amp circuit for the countertops.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:12 PM   #11
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,669
Rewards Points: 2,096
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


Just look at the amperage rating on the model plate. If you have a septic system, I would deep six that garbage disposal.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:14 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 562
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


My refrigerator is 1a. Are you sure yours is 8.5a?

You have two breakers; each is good for 15a.
I don't know if it is still allowed to code, but it is common to have the gc and dishwasher on the same circuit.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:27 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
My refrigerator is 1a. Are you sure yours is 8.5a?

You have two breakers; each is good for 15a.
I don't know if it is still allowed to code, but it is common to have the gc and dishwasher on the same circuit.
On the same 20 amp circuit, not on a 15 amp circuit.
Could you post the brand and model number of that frig?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 10:14 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 562
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
On the same 20 amp circuit, not on a 15 amp circuit.
Could you post the brand and model number of that frig?
One I have now is 1a, one it replaced 5 years ago was 1.5a. Both 25cf. Have to think there is nothing unusual about them.

You might be right about the 20/15a thing; OP should check his cable and see if it is 14 or 12.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 10:21 PM   #15
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Too many appliances on tandem breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
One I have now is 1a, one it replaced 5 years ago was 1.5a. Both 25cf. Have to think there is nothing unusual about them.

You might be right about the 20/15a thing; OP should check his cable and see if it is 14 or 12.

Find that 1amp hard to believe.

Advertisement

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
k_buz (03-27-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outside breaker, inside main breaker panel, so is it a sub? CPF Electrical 29 02-01-2012 11:28 AM
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 05:31 PM
small voltage on circuit with breaker off jasonmechler Electrical 3 08-24-2009 09:52 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts