Timer With Override Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2011, 08:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Timer with override switch


I am wiring up my to-be-finished basement and had the idea of having a receptacle wired on a timer but with a switch override. My thought was that a timer would be a good move given my kids propensity to leave things on, but have an "override switch" in case an adult wants the equipment on for a longer duration. Is this possible? any idea how to wire that up?

Advertisement

jimmyhopps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 08:33 PM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Timer with override switch


I think an occupancy sensor would be a better choice. What are you wanting to control with this?

Advertisement

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 08:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Timer with override switch


You may be right about the occupancy sensor. thanks.
i was planning on having some of the lights run off it.
jimmyhopps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 07:59 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Timer with override switch


actually an occupancy sensor will not work for this purpose, as the objective of the switch is to override the timer either on or off.
jimmyhopps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 08:58 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Timer with override switch


Occ sensors that take the place of a wall switch have manual on/off switches in them. Here’s a link to Leviton occ sensors page, to look at for some ideas/info.

http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/ibeCC...minisite=10026
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
timer switch wiring mlang43 Electrical 2 06-13-2011 03:09 PM
Is it possible to override IR sensor with single switch? torizus Electrical 5 03-13-2011 04:05 PM
Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch. Wing Electrical 16 08-26-2010 07:22 PM
fan timer on a switch loop someguy86 Electrical 3 08-02-2010 09:05 PM
Timer switch...any ideas how it works? mcvane Electrical 5 09-28-2008 07:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts