Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2008, 09:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Tie off a run in junction box?


Hello,

I was digging in the flower bed out front today and found a buried wire the hard way, about four inches down. Knicked it just a bit. There's a flared piece of plastic insulation where I was digging, looks like it either is a defect in the insulation or maybe I knicked the wire. Hard to tell. I can't see copper, but I stuck a compact mirror underneath the cable and there's what might be dirt, might be exposed wire down there -- leaning towards dirt. Wrapped it with some electrical tape for now.

Now, the funny thing is, that wire doesn't go anywhere. When I first moved in there was a reference to a post lite on the electrical panel. I've since had the panel replaced and I don't know what breaker that was. I am assuming this wire goes to wherever that post used to be.

Traced it inside the house and it leads to a junction box in my crawlspace. No clue what is between the junction box and the panel, the wire leads up and could go anywhere. There is a lightswitch in the living room, just above the crawlspace, that does not appear to do anything -- I'm guessing this is the switch to my non-existent post lite.

Two questions:

1) Is there a safe way to repair that little knick (silicon, maybe) and forget about it?

2) Or should I just go to the junction box, disconnect the outgoing cable, and put nuts/electrical tape on the incoming wire. Is this safe to do?

Thanks
Dave

NotSoHandyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 10:10 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,683
Default

Tie off a run in junction box?


If you are sure that you will never use the wire, then disconnecting at the j-box is a good idea.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 10:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Tie off a run in junction box?


Pretty sure. Worst case I can always reconnect it. I wasn't sure leaving hot wires nutted off in the box was OK or not.
NotSoHandyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 08:36 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Tie off a run in junction box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by NotSoHandyman View Post
Pretty sure. Worst case I can always reconnect it. I wasn't sure leaving hot wires nutted off in the box was OK or not.
No problem with that.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessable attic & Junction boxes (NEC question) IvoryRing Electrical 7 04-10-2013 09:30 AM
Range & Junction Box Distance G3Aloha Electrical 1 05-10-2008 12:13 PM
Junction Question? fw2007 Electrical 10 03-31-2008 11:03 AM
Device Box used as Junction Box BigJimmy Electrical 5 01-27-2008 09:37 PM
Old House - no junction box - HELP! Designman20 Electrical 22 10-11-2007 04:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.