Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2011, 02:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Three way Timer Install


How can I tell which is the load switch or the line switch?

dldriscoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 03:10 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,282
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Three way Timer Install


Line is power, load is exactly that. It can be a light, a device such as a stove, a/c, furnace, etc.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 05:00 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,855
Rewards Points: 2,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Three way Timer Install


Measure voltage from common screw to ground. Flip the switch. If the power goes on and off it is the LOAD switch. If the power stays on always it is the line switch.

NOTE:
THIS HAS TO BE DONE WITH THE POWER ON AND THE SWITCH EXPOSED. IF YOU ARE NOT COMFORTABLE WORKING WITH LIVE POWER THEN CALL SOMEONE WHO IS.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help My Admiral Refrigerator is leaking water Cuwillis Appliances 10 03-25-2014 08:21 AM
Should I install interior doors before floor? pttcc Flooring 13 11-23-2010 09:02 AM
GE Smart Digital Timer Will Not Work Manually dgbarar Electrical 3 10-31-2010 08:15 PM
Install an electronic timer CaJazzman Electrical 8 08-13-2008 04:12 PM
Timer Installation lpmike82 Electrical 3 06-21-2008 02:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.