Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2012, 12:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Three Way Switch Help


I am trying to replace a set of three way switches. I am trying to add z-wave switches. I purchased: GE 45613 Z-Wave Technology 3-Way Dimmer Switch Kit

See instructions

The originally three way switches have three wires attached. Two blacks and one reds. After figuring out that I need a neutral wire I gave up. Then I looked in the boxes and there are white wires that are all spliced together. One switch box has 2 wires and the other has four white wires. Are these the neutrals? why are they all spliced together?

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated. I do not have a voltage meter but I can gout and get one if needed.

Thanks in advance

rcreff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 12:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,597
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default

Three Way Switch Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by rcreff View Post

The originally three way switches have three wires attached. Two blacks and one reds. After figuring out that I need a neutral wire I gave up. Then I looked in the boxes and there are white wires that are all spliced together. One switch box has 2 wires and the other has four white wires. Are these the neutrals? why are they all spliced together?
Odds are the whites are neutrals since the original 3-ways had other blacks and reds connected to them.

They are all spliced together, I assume with the use of a wire nut, because that is how continuity is achieved.

A couple pictures posted of the wiring inside the switch boxes would not hurt.

hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 12:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Three Way Switch Help


So, do I take the neutral from the switch and wire it to the white wire's wire nut? Are all the neutrals in the house tied in together? Sorry...just trying to understand how the neutral works. The switch has the following connections:

Traveler
Line
Load
Neutral

The other switch is:
Traveler
Neutral

Thanks,
Rob
rcreff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 12:49 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 135
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Three Way Switch Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by rcreff View Post
So, do I take the neutral from the switch and wire it to the white wire's wire nut? Are all the neutrals in the house tied in together? Sorry...just trying to understand how the neutral works. The switch has the following connections:

Traveler
Line
Load
Neutral

The other switch is:
Traveler
Neutral

Thanks,
Rob
Yes, just connect the white from your switch to the neutrals already connected together in the wire nut.

For your first switch, the black is the line, blue is the load, yellow is the traveler. For your auxiliary switch, the yellow is the traveler and white/red is your hot.
hawkeye11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lighting, switch, z-wave


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 11:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.