Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2004, 07:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

three way switch


I have a hallway with one light and two three way switches on either end. I am changing the fixture to recessed light and adding two additional lights. The power is fed to the light fixture first. 12/3 conductor between the two switches only. From power to light to light to first switch is 12/2.
PROBLEM:
Lights are dim when adding additional lights. When only one light is in the circuit, brightness is fine.
Any suggestions?
maintenance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 10:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clifton, New Jersey
Posts: 41
Default

three way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by maintenance
I have a hallway with one light and two three way switches on either end. I am changing the fixture to recessed light and adding two additional lights. The power is fed to the light fixture first. 12/3 conductor between the two switches only. From power to light to light to first switch is 12/2.
PROBLEM:
Lights are dim when adding additional lights. When only one light is in the circuit, brightness is fine.
Any suggestions?

What I would do is test the voltage at the first switch. If it's at normal voltage with voltage drop allowances then I would test the first light. The voltage drop might be severly at a low reading. How far is the switch from the panel. Do you know if there is 12/3 from the panel. I would see if i could check that as well cause there might be 14 wire from the panel and 12 at the switches. But, again test the power at the switch and then from there the light. Perhaps you can put in lower wattage bulbs to try and even it out. There's other things it could be but I would start there and see what the voltage is and how bad the drop might be.
Hammertime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 05:48 AM   #3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

three way switch


There is 12/2 from the panel. The switch is approx. 12' from the panel. I am getting 120 at the switch and at the first light.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 07:21 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clifton, New Jersey
Posts: 41
Default

three way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered
There is 12/2 from the panel. The switch is approx. 12' from the panel. I am getting 120 at the switch and at the first light.

Keep testing on to the next light. You must have somekind of voltage drop somewhere unless the lights are faulty. Make sure all your connections are secure and not loose. So far, you're okay from the switch to the first light. So from there you know you're okay. Not much more to test to pinpoint your problem. Make sure the bulbs are working okay in to lights as well. Test them in another light. Test the voltage to the first light that is Dim. If the first light in line is bright and the following one's are dim then check the first dim light your problem might lie in the hookup for power at the first light.
Hammertime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 02:22 AM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

three way switch


If power is fed to the first light, then down to the switch and 3-wire betweent the switches....the hot should be fed down the 2-wire on the white, bypassing the first switch feeding hot on white to the second switch. Make sure you are actually on the switch leg and neutral like the first light was. If you interuppted the hot going down on white to the switch you are actually series connected causing the voltage drop.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 12:12 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Exclamation

three way switch


After hooking up a 3-way switch to a 3-way switch that operates a light . I cannot get the light to work properly unless I connect 1 of the two light wires to the ground in the light box . what should I have connected differently or is this o.k.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 03:52 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM
New Switch / Ceiling Fixture - Help nelrolo3 Electrical 1 03-12-2004 06:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.