Three Pole Motor Control - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2012, 10:48 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Three pole motor control


Ok, so i'm going to wire my dust collector to a switched outlet for turning it on and off.....I found a leviton heavy duty 20 amp wall switch at home depot that said its rated for motor control.....but the more I got thinking, the more i'd like to do it as a three way so I can turn it on and off from both sides of the shop. However, I can't find a three way that says for motor control on it. I'm finding plenty of heavy duty ones that look the same, but just list fixtures on them, not motors. Do they exist? And if so, are they going to break the bank? The two way is only 5 bucks......

Advertisement

ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 10:55 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,761
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Three pole motor control


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
Ok, so i'm going to wire my dust collector to a switched outlet for turning it on and off.....I found a leviton heavy duty 20 amp wall switch at home depot that said its rated for motor control.....but the more I got thinking, the more i'd like to do it as a three way so I can turn it on and off from both sides of the shop. However, I can't find a three way that says for motor control on it. I'm finding plenty of heavy duty ones that look the same, but just list fixtures on them, not motors. Do they exist? And if so, are they going to break the bank? The two way is only 5 bucks......
Use standard 3 way switches and a contactor.

Advertisement

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (07-30-2012)
Old 07-29-2012, 10:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Three pole motor control


Ok, i'm looking at the delta 1.5 hp dust collector and it'll be running on 120V, this switch is the three pole version of the one I bought.....but it lists only 1 hp as the max in the tech specs.......but its a 20 amp switch, and the dust collector only draws 15 amps.....

HELP....i'm confused
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 11:03 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

Three pole motor control


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
Ok, i'm looking at the delta 1.5 hp dust collector and it'll be running on 120V, this switch is the three pole version of the one I bought.....but it lists only 1 hp as the max in the tech specs.......but its a 20 amp switch, and the dust collector only draws 15 amps.....

HELP....i'm confused
Read post #2....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 11:04 PM   #5
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,761
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Three pole motor control


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
Ok, i'm looking at the delta 1.5 hp dust collector and it'll be running on 120V, this switch is the three pole version of the one I bought.....but it lists only 1 hp as the max in the tech specs.......but its a 20 amp switch, and the dust collector only draws 15 amps.....

HELP....i'm confused
Switch has to be horsepower rated. Your probabely going to need a motor starter and control it with two 3 way switches.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 02:06 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Three pole motor control


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
Ok, so i'm going to wire my dust collector to a switched outlet for turning it on and off.....I found a leviton heavy duty 20 amp wall switch at home depot that said its rated for motor control.....but the more I got thinking, the more i'd like to do it as a three way so I can turn it on and off from both sides of the shop. However, I can't find a three way that says for motor control on it. I'm finding plenty of heavy duty ones that look the same, but just list fixtures on them, not motors. Do they exist? And if so, are they going to break the bank? The two way is only 5 bucks......
Ryan.,

The best answer to slove your issue is use the common three way switch and a motour starter contractor that is the best methold to use and I have done that few time in couple customer location so it have a very good result with it.

The other reason why few of us mention motour contractor due some of the dust collector some of them their motour do not have any overload protection so that is the other reason why I used them.

The other reason why I do this is keep the voltage drop to the minum so when the motour start up it don't drop the voltage very much during start up and during running mode as well.

The nice thing with this set up the three way switch will last a long time due you will only switching the contractor load not the motour load so that is one of few big plus.

Just try to see what the 30 amp three way switch cost ( they are CV rated ) but the cost will useally get ya so a common 3 way switch plus contractor is genrally cheaper than use 30 amp three way plus 12 gauge or 10 gauge conductor depending on the run so it will add up fast.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:46 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Three pole motor control


Maybe I'll stick to a simple two pole.....I think the other options are above my expertise

Advertisement

ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole vs. Double Pole Thermostat dforeid Electrical 14 08-26-2012 09:12 AM
Replacing Load Bearing Wall with Pole whitediamond642 Building & Construction 5 06-22-2012 12:57 PM
Can a T104 dual pole timer be used as a single pole installation? illuminate Electrical 6 06-13-2012 06:33 PM
Double pole breaker used as single pole WonderingOne Electrical 11 11-30-2010 01:37 AM
240V 2 pole 1/2 inch GE breakers? Isaac-1 Electrical 12 02-09-2010 12:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts