Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2009, 09:43 PM   #1
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Share |
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


There was a really bad storm, a lot of lightning and we heard a very loud sound in our back deck, at which time the TV went off and the desktop computer went off.

We then discovered that there are three outlets that have no power to them.

We have called the electrician to come and take a look in the morning, but I am curious as to what could have happened?

Also, the desktop computer is not working, and there is power to the outlet that it is plugged in.

Did my computer get fried............

yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


Lightning strike?

Is there a GFCI somewhere?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:52 PM   #3
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


The three outlets are in the kitchen/family room. Yes there are GFCI outlets on the kitchen counter backsplash.
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:53 PM   #4
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


My husband check the breakers and none are tripped.
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 12:23 AM   #5
Member
 
BCSparkyGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 63
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


did you reset the gfci's?
BCSparkyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 01:44 AM   #6
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,248
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


On your computer: you may be one of the lucky people whose computer has an internal fuse which may have blown. My son's 'puter went out during an electrical storm and we just went with the option that it had gotten "fried". Later a friend of his who knew about this took the cover off and found that only an internal fuse had blown. Fuse replacement fixed that one. As far as the outlets not working: It could be possible that one or more of the GFCI outlets in the kitchen would also feed the outlets in the kitchen/family room, so YES check all of the GFCI outlets may have been tripped during this storm. Good Luck, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 02:33 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,363
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


Quote:
Originally Posted by yummy mummy View Post
There was a really bad storm, a lot of lightning and we heard a very loud sound in our back deck, at which time the TV went off and the desktop computer went off. ...........
Is there an outside outlet on that back deck? Possibly a GFCI type? Check to see if it has fried.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 07:27 AM   #8
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


Thank you, thank you, thank you, all you wonderful folks here.

Yes, it was the GFCI outlet on the deck that needed to be reset.

You guys and dolls are the best.......

As far as the computer, I will try and see if it is a fuse inside.

Love ya all.
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 12:32 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,363
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


That noise you heard outside on your deck was the GFCI receptacle tripping out. Glad you can reset it, without having to replace it.

OK, it would seem that you are running your computer on a GFCI protected circuit. Betcha a dollar to a donut you have a surge power strip with that computer?

Power strips can shunt surges to ground, and when they do, a GFCI will sense the imbalance in the circuit and trip out. During a lightning storm, you would more likely have surges present as well.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 01:25 PM   #10
Member
 
BCSparkyGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 63
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


yep, woulda loved that service call.......glad you were able to fix it yourself.
BCSparkyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 02:50 PM   #11
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
That noise you heard outside on your deck was the GFCI receptacle tripping out. Glad you can reset it, without having to replace it.

OK, it would seem that you are running your computer on a GFCI protected circuit. Betcha a dollar to a donut you have a surge power strip with that computer?

Power strips can shunt surges to ground, and when they do, a GFCI will sense the imbalance in the circuit and trip out. During a lightning storm, you would more likely have surges present as well.
That was one loud crack sound that it makes. I did not realize that the GFCI tripping makes such a loud sound.

As for the computer, by surge power strip, do you mean that bar that has all the outlets on it? What I did was change that power bar, as I thought it was not working and I put in another one, but that does not work either. The outlet does work, and the funny thing is that the modem works, the router works, the printer works, and the monitor works, but not the desktop tower. It won't turn on.

Is there something inside that tower that might have gone out? Do they have fuses in there?

Thanks for your help.
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 03:53 PM   #12
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,248
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


As I stated, some computers do have an internal fuse located within the tower. I have seen three (3) of these now, my son's included. The fuses I have seen are the little round, glass, type fuses. The one in my son's computer was less than one amp, something like .3 amp, they had to go to an electronic supply store to find it. Using all safety procedures, take the case off and inspect all of the circuit boards in the back of the unit, that's where I have seen them, down under something so it's hard to see of course. You're doing good so far, get this problem solved and we'll send you you're DIY License. Good Luck, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 04:02 PM   #13
Member
 
BCSparkyGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 63
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


it may have taken out your power supply on the tower. They can be taken out quite easily by spikes and surges, which is why you should not cheap out on surge protection bars. The ideal system they preach about in school is having it on a ups system, but this can get costly, just make sure you invest in a good quality surge protactor, and during a lighting storm, shut off and unplug your comp, just to be on the safe side.
BCSparkyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 07:01 PM   #14
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


I am going to try and see if I can open the computer and see if I can solve this.

I want that licence Thurman.
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 12:22 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 77
Default

Three outlets not working after heavy storm


Quote:
Originally Posted by yummy mummy View Post
As for the computer, by surge power strip, do you mean that bar that has all the outlets on it? What I did was change that power bar, as I thought it was not working and I put in another one, but that does not work either. The outlet does work, and the funny thing is that the modem works, the router works, the printer works, and the monitor works, but not the desktop tower. It won't turn on.
Surges seek earth ground. Either you earth a surge before it can enter the building. Or surge energy hunts for earth ground inside the building. In your case, the surge found earth destructively through your computer.

First, to fix the computer, you must establish, using numbers, what is and is not damaged. Anything else can act strangely if the power supply system (more than just a power supply) is not first known good. That means 30 seconds measuring voltages on six colored wires.

Second, earthing one 'whole house' protector means that surge would not have entered the building. Such devices are sold by companies with better reputations - Siemens, Square D, General Electric, Leviton, and Intermatic are but a few. The Cutler-Hammer protector sells in Lowes for less than $50. Of course, no protector provides protection. Protection is provided by earth. A protector is only as effective as its earth ground which is why your building earthing must both meet and exceed post 1990 National Electrical code.

Third, that power strip protector did exactly what its manufacturer's specs claim. It provided no protection. Worse, it may have provided a path that bypasses protection already inside the power supply. It may have earthed the surge destructively through motherboard.

But first you must establish that the power 'system' is functional. Lights can glow and fans spin; and the power system can still be defective. Only a meter can report the power 'system' as good. Almost all damage never leaves visual indications.

westom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to westom For This Useful Post:
RABaker (07-06-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
outlets not working Tradesman14 Electrical 31 06-29-2009 09:27 PM
some outlets not working Clallen Electrical 5 06-08-2009 04:09 PM
Outlets stopped working RammsteinNicCage Electrical 12 05-03-2009 09:47 PM
Electrical storm - outlets not working SG94 Electrical 4 04-27-2008 09:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.