Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2009, 07:19 PM   #16
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

For those who own a digital voltmeter


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I rarely use my meter in a house.
I troubleshoot with a hot stick and wiggys.
I use my amprobe more than my digital meter.
Thats not to say(before anyone else has a chance) that I have never used my meter.

Is this what you mean by hot stick or are you talking about something else?

Name:  NCVT-1_ICON.JPG
Views: 140
Size:  8.0 KB

Jamie

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 06:24 AM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,869
Rewards Points: 2,134
Default

For those who own a digital voltmeter


Jamie, that is what I am talking about.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 06:31 AM   #18
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

For those who own a digital voltmeter


personally, i like my needle meter. it only needs one 'a' battery for ohms.
as infrequently as i use it, a digital would be dead every time i grabbed it. lol
besides, i was trained on a needle meter in the service.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 07:05 AM   #19
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

For those who own a digital voltmeter


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Jamie, that is what I am talking about.
Are you able to tell which wire is hot in a box or does it just go off once it gets close?

I have a tone generator and inductive amp. With that it is clear which wire is which with the probe (but thats only for tracing wires I know are dead). I was wondering if these little testers allow you to tell whats live, say if you have a jbox with 10 different wires, close together in it or if you still end up having to pull out a contact meter to make sure you know what is dead and what is hot.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 10:01 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 500
Default

For those who own a digital voltmeter


Jamie I have one of those testers and they do a pretty good job at telling which wires are hot but they are sensitive and sometimes give a false hot reading if the tip is close to a hot wire. If you pull the wires out of the box and get an inch or so of space between the wires it is pretty accurate.

ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.