Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2007, 06:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Third sub-service panel


I have a combination meter base and service entrance panel that feeds the house sub-service from a 200 amp breaker and feeds the separate garage sub-service from a 100 amp breaker.
I would like to add another 100 amp feed to another building(shop) sub-service.
Questions:
1: There is room for another 100 amp circuit breaker in the service panel. Can I supply the third sub-service from this breaker?
2: The service entrance panel has only two neutral lugs that are already being used by the two existing sub-service feeds. Can the third neutral be stacked with another in the same lug?
3: Can the feed wires for the separate services be combined in one 2 inch conduit that is used for panel to burial depth (remainder of run is direct burial) or do the services have to be in separate conduits? The wire gauge is #2 al direct burial and there are 3 wires per service (no 4th ground).

Thanks in advance,
Borderbuster

borderbuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 12:47 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Third sub-service panel


figured it out myself, thanks anyway,
borderbuster

borderbuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 07:58 AM   #3
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,535
Default

Third sub-service panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by borderbuster View Post
figured it out myself, thanks anyway,
borderbuster
Hope this is what you figured out:
1. Yes
2. No
3. Would advise against using same conduit.

If the buildings are detached, you may use a three wire feed (if your AHJ approves and there are no other metallic paths between the buildings) and you will need grounding electrodes at each location. If the buildings are attached, they MUST be fed with four wires.

Last edited by HouseHelper; 07-03-2007 at 08:05 AM.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 05:45 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

Third sub-service panel


A detached building may be fed with 3 wire (assuming 120/240 volts) ONLY if there are NO other metallic paths to any other building This includes metal water pipe, metal gas pipe, telephone, CATV, intercom. If there is, it MUST be 4 wire (hot, hot, neutral, grounding conductor)

Separate building also requires a grounding electrode.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 08:30 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Third sub-service panel


Decided to do it the way I saw the electricians in Puerto Vallerto do it. Run one hot wire to everything, get the neutral from the ground rod.
Just kidding, except that I actually saw the electricians in mexico wiring with one hot wire only. lighting around a pool no less and wasn't low voltage either.

Had to add another neutral lug to the service entry/meter box. Added another conduit for third sub run.
There is actually room for another breaker in the meter panel but I am running out of buildings. and money.

Borderbuster
borderbuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Main Service Panel Full bobo Electrical 5 09-24-2007 07:13 PM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 10:00 PM
meter to service panel mikim Electrical 5 05-04-2007 05:34 AM
Basement receptacle under service panel mekanic Electrical 2 05-12-2006 05:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.