Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2011, 11:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: michigan
Posts: 41
Share |
Default

Are These Pushmatic Breakers Available?


Hi all,

I am trying to add a new breaker to my existing box, the house has too much stuff connected and a couple of wires are double tapped.

Here are a couple of pics of what I have. There is space for a couple of new breakers, but I can't seem to find them locally.

Any suggestions appreciated.

Hugh




hugh71158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:28 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,318
Default

Are These Pushmatic Breakers Available?


They are available, but you will need to get them from suppliers that handle obsolete breakers. Expect about $40 or so for a single pole IIRC.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:30 AM   #3
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,129
Default

Are These Pushmatic Breakers Available?


Push-Matics are still available at my local electrical supply house---bring a full wallet--

Villa Park Electric supply---I'll come back if I can find a link---Mike--

http://www.vpes.net/ --found it.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:48 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: michigan
Posts: 41
Default

Are These Pushmatic Breakers Available?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
They are available, but you will need to get them from suppliers that handle obsolete breakers. Expect about $40 or so for a single pole IIRC.


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
Push-Matics are still available at my local electrical supply house---bring a full wallet--

Villa Park Electric supply---I'll come back if I can find a link---Mike--

http://www.vpes.net/ --found it.

Gentlemen, that was fast!!! Awesome forum. Thanks for the link Mike.

A couple of questions:

1. I read something about pushmatic breakers being a little suspect in their ability to perform with age. Anyone heard that?

2. Relative to the above point, if I am going to pay so much for a breaker should I simply buy a new, safer, box?

Thanks for the replies.

Hugh
hugh71158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:00 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,318
Default

Are These Pushmatic Breakers Available?


While the individual breaker price would be less for a current breaker, there would be the additional cost of the panel changeout. These can be quite labor intensive aka expensive.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:17 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albany, GA
Posts: 295
Default

Are These Pushmatic Breakers Available?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh71158 View Post
Gentlemen, that was fast!!! Awesome forum. Thanks for the link Mike.

A couple of questions:

1. I read something about pushmatic breakers being a little suspect in their ability to perform with age. Anyone heard that?

2. Relative to the above point, if I am going to pay so much for a breaker should I simply buy a new, safer, box?

Thanks for the replies.

Hugh
Pushmatics sometimes don't age very well. The key to keeping them working is to cycle the breakers periodically to keep the moving parts, well, moving.

Unless you are having problems with the service panel, it'd be far less expensive to maintain a working panel than to replace it (assuming that the panel is in good condition and is properly wired). If the panel is in good shape and is wired correctly, I would not be worried. If you plan to do lots of expansion in the future, you might consider upgrading the panel to make work easier and less expensive down the road.
clashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: michigan
Posts: 41
Default

Are These Pushmatic Breakers Available?


Guys,

thanks a lot!

The panel is probably fine and I just want to add one, maybe two circuits, for which there is expansion space.

Thanks again.

Hugh
hugh71158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:57 PM   #8
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,129
Default

Are These Pushmatic Breakers Available?


Dito ---service upgrades and box change outs are a substantial investment---good to do if you have out grown the service---We are an all conduit area---upgrades here cost $1200 and up--

a good value if needed---waste of money if not.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 06:01 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: michigan
Posts: 41
Default

Are These Pushmatic Breakers Available?


Hmm, I was quoted $98 online, but I managed to find a double one at Home Depot for $49. THIS IS IT

Seems expensive, but not as bad as some.

Thanks again.

Hugh
hugh71158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 07:11 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 133
Default

Are These Pushmatic Breakers Available?


I needed a 20a/15a duplex single pole Push-A-Matic breaker. I also bought one of the newly manufactured Push-A-Matic style equivalent breakers like you found at Home Depot. All the authentic ITE brand obsolete Push-A-Matic breakers I found were used and not New Old Stock breakers.

I would rather have a new breaker than pay more money just so everything in the panel board matched in appearance.

MI-Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can Pushmatic breakers be bought? peterthomas3 Electrical 24 08-05-2013 06:45 PM
Different styles of pushmatic breakers (bolt spacing/ location) codeman112 Electrical 24 11-24-2010 10:36 AM
Can I get AFCI breakers for my panel? BlueBSH Electrical 21 08-04-2010 07:07 AM
Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers avery2008 Electrical 8 05-02-2009 02:51 PM
Help! Circuit breakers in trouble Circuit breakers Electrical 9 12-22-2008 12:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.