Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 10:48 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thermostats


Is it easy to change out thermostats, I have electric heat, my house was built in 54, the thermostats look like they are that old, brass no numbers that I can see, just says cold and warmer. Sue

sue jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 10:55 AM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

thermostats


Hi Sue. Being that old, they are probably the old mercury switch on a spring type and usually only have 2 wires to turn the furnace on and off. You can still get mercury 2 wire switches, slider and round, so far as I know. ( I have a couple out in the shed) Other HVAC experts here may chime in and assist you further.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:03 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thermostats


What furnace ?
sue jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:09 AM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,364
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

thermostats


Quote:
Originally Posted by sue jones View Post
What furnace ?
Furnace is a generic term for you heating system....some are gas....some electric.....technically still a furnace....electrically heated furnace.

Just buy a moderan thermostat......they will have instructions on how to wire it.....even if it's two wires.

Just make sure you unplug the furnace (electric heat) before you swap it out....there will most likely be 24Vac on those 2 wires...

Don't stress over it.....the instructions are pretty clear.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:14 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thermostats


Thank you!!!
sue jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:20 AM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

thermostats


Not a problem. It's what we live for here!
Do you happen to know what type of heat/fuel you have?
Being that old, you may (if affordable) consider upgrading to a new system that is more fuel efficient.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:33 AM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,364
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

thermostats


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
Not a problem. It's what we live for here!
Do you happen to know what type of heat/fuel you have?
Being that old, you may (if affordable) consider upgrading to a new system that is more fuel efficient.

DM
Good advice.....especially if your heating is electrical resistive heating......

A heat pump will be a lot more effecient....in many cases saving enough in electrical costs to pay for itself in 5 years or less.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 12:22 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,144
Rewards Points: 504
Default

thermostats


To me it sounds like she has baseboard heaters, seems like she has more then one thermostat.

They are usually two wire. Turn power off, take off old and put back new as the old one was. I beleive you can buy programmable thermostats for baseboard heat as well now a days.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to darren For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (10-06-2012)
Old 10-07-2012, 09:17 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thermostats


It is baseboard, and I have three thermostats, I just took one apart and it is two wires so I'll get what I need and if I'm still standing, I'll let you know how it went. Thanks
sue jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:42 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,258
Rewards Points: 512
Default

thermostats


I didn't see any good advise here.Call an electrician.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:59 AM   #11
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,364
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

thermostats


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
I didn't see any good advise here.Call an electrician.
I disagree.

Hooking up a 2 wire thermostat is a perfect example of a DIY project that any home owner can handle.

The operating and programming instructions are much more complicated than hooking up 2 wires. We told her to turn off the power first....after that it is easy. This is not a project that needs an electrician.

Sorry, but your comment is of the trolling type.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 08:10 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thermostats


It's done, thank you

sue jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Two Thermostats Question tim2255 HVAC 9 01-03-2012 10:13 PM
Lutron Thermostats ChrisDIY HVAC 4 10-24-2011 08:45 AM
Electric Baseboard Heater Thermostats Edward1 Electrical 11 02-19-2011 09:04 AM
2 wire thermostats in parallel? DragonFire Electrical 11 01-22-2011 12:50 PM
Internet / Network controlled thermostats rkpatt HVAC 0 12-04-2010 01:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.