Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2007, 06:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thermostat wiring trouble


I have a new thermostat unit I am wiring, i am stumped! on the old white rodgers 20 year old mercury switch it had one wire that is white and was connected to two screws an E and a W2. which post should i screw that one wire to if it has two designations?

telbroome@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 06:51 PM   #2
Newbie
 
TurningColorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thermostat wiring trouble


On a two wire system, you can't do any harm by hooking it up wrong.
One wire is ground, the other hot. When shorted, the furnace should come on.
If there's a "w2" on the new thermostat, the white wire should go there.

Good luck,
Mike - http://www.TurningColorz.com

TurningColorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 01:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

thermostat wiring trouble


Mike...How can one wire be hot and the other be ground and the thermostat work. To make an electrical circuit it must be completed back to the source. Ground wires carry no current unless there is a ground fault.
Also, two wires that have polarity reversed can cause failure of the device. This is usually found in DC circuits.

To try and answer the question.
You do not have enough wires to for your new thermostat. Your old thermostat only had two wires correct? That means the old thermostat was just a switch. on/off. The newer thermostats are smarter and require more wires that your old one did.
Try to find a single pole switch type of themostat or get an HVAC guy out there.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 04:17 PM   #4
Newbie
 
TurningColorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thermostat wiring trouble


Thanks J.V.,
You're right, "hot" and "ground" were the wrong terms to use.
Maybe "in" and "out" would be more accurate?

Either way, as J.V. points out, your thermostat is a simple switch and connecting the two wires will "close" the switch.
I'm only assuming there are really 2 wires on the new thermostat, although only the white wire is mentioned in the original post.

Mike
TurningColorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat Wiring & Troubleshooting guide Hippie HVAC 7 10-25-2009 10:02 AM
Wiring a Noma Programable Thermostat 111jag General DIY Discussions 1 10-14-2007 10:13 PM
Thermostat Wiring Problem crazy woman HVAC 2 08-15-2006 09:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.