Thermostat Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2009, 01:52 AM   #1
Member
 
toolbelt Tina's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

thermostat wiring


I have a programmable digital thermostat I am attempting to install for my baseboard heaters in the cottage.

The instructions to connect are next to nil. Two wires on thermostat.
Is it like a light switch? Line or black hot to therm. Load black to other wire on therm.

What about multiple heaters on the same line? I have a kitchen living room situation, the kitchen heater was removed in the reno. I am left with a line wire and a load wire to the living room. I require a therm and heater for kitchen and a therm for the living room.

Are there more efficient electric heaters on the market or are they all the same?

Thanks
Tina

Advertisement

toolbelt Tina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 06:02 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

thermostat wiring


What is the make/model number of the thermostat? Are you dealing with "line voltage" or low voltage?

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 11:28 PM   #3
Member
 
toolbelt Tina's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

thermostat wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
What is the make/model number of the thermostat? Are you dealing with "line voltage" or low voltage?
Noma Heating Programmable Thermostat model htm611a/ 52 2544-0
for high voltage electric baseboards
max load 3000 w @240
1500w@120v
12A
min load 500w


http://www.upm-marketing.com/images/..._Downloads.pdf

Last edited by toolbelt Tina; 10-05-2009 at 11:34 PM.
toolbelt Tina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 05:15 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

thermostat wiring


Yes, line voltage thermostats are basically a switch. You have 2 wires: One is the "line" and the other is the "load"

How many wires are in the wall box where the thermostat will be mounted?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 11:58 PM   #5
Member
 
toolbelt Tina's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

thermostat wiring


Thanks for all the help.

All the thermostats were using low voltage thermostats that were not accurate.
At the baseboard level in the kitchen I have 2 wires, 1 is hot the other goes to the living room baseboards.

Will I pigtail it to run two thermostats?

cheers Tina
toolbelt Tina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell Thermostat Wiring Differences DavidHwang HVAC 16 01-28-2012 03:11 PM
Thermostat wiring jetmanaz HVAC 1 08-09-2009 08:13 PM
Thermostat wiring advice tsugacanadensis HVAC 2 11-04-2008 08:04 AM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 08:40 AM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 12:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts