Thermostat Issue, Need Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2012, 04:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat issue, need help


OK, here is the issue I have. I have two zones for my heat/ac. I have an oil boiler, an a/c unit outside and what i believe to be hydro heat as well (there are copper pipes that run through the forced air portion of the blower).

One zone (main floor) has a nice programmable LUX thermostat. The upstairs zone has an old school dial thermostat that is obviously not programmable, causing over-usage or heat and/or A/C.

I opened up the thermostat upstairs and it has two main wires coming out of the wall. Attached to the thermostat were 3 wires, R, Y, W. The W and Y come from 1 larger wire and the R comes from the 2nd larger wire with two open wires taped off.

I am not sure how to connect the new LUX programmable thermostat. The 3 wires that were being utilized previously are labeled. The other 2 are not labeled. They are white and black in color. The R was red in color.

SO, I would like some assistance if anyone can help in trying to install this 2nd thermostat. I would like it if the upstairs zone was a completely separate zone. Right now i believe when you turn off the thermostat downstairs, it turns off the ability to use the "dial" thermostat upstairs.

Thanks.

Jon

Advertisement

JonMio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 04:40 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,400
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

Thermostat issue, need help


If you want to find out if there are wires from the downstairs thermostat, to the upstairs, you are going to have to do a continuity test, or get a fox & hound set.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat optimizer HVAC 13 04-20-2011 07:22 PM
Installing New thermostat need help effusion_01 HVAC 18 03-01-2011 06:09 AM
double pole thermostat for kickspace heater lee12 Electrical 3 12-09-2010 01:52 PM
connecting a 4 wire SP thermostat to a 2 wire system wiichkin Electrical 4 08-15-2010 02:35 PM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-10-2010 12:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts