Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2012, 12:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

there is power according to the tester, but no power when you plug in the lamp?


HELP....I am so sick of not having electric on 1/2 of our living room, my husband has replaced the plugs itself, and tried the breaker, it works fine, the tester beeps and says there is power...to go plug in the lamp and NOTHING..try a fan..NOTHING..curling iron....NOTHING...but yet the tester he tests with says the same thing in different parts of the house...beepbeepbeep..lights flashing ..great there is electric...plug it in the new socket and still NOTHING...
Does anyone have an idea of whats going on....if we could afford an electrician we would hire one, but my husband is a carpenter, sheetmetal worker, roofer, HVAC, masonry, plumber..he does it for a living...but electrical..not so much...he replaced the plug ins the tester says it works, but NOTHING! arggg...

Beckiec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

there is power according to the tester, but no power when you plug in the lamp?


Then get your husband to borrow a real meter to test for voltage. Non-contact testers only tell you half the story. You need a circuit for electricity to work. The tester your husband has does not verify a complete circuit.
While he is asking to borrow a meter, maybe he can ask for some advice. I have never known anyone that does that many trades to not know how to actually check for a circuit.
I know of ZERO HVAC guys that could not do this simple task.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
Beckiec4 (10-20-2012)
Old 10-20-2012, 12:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,770
Default

there is power according to the tester, but no power when you plug in the lamp?


What kind of tester is he trying to use.
Should be using a volt ohm meter or one of these.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/PLUG-IN-OUTL...item337cc1df35

If he's just trying to use one that sort of looks like a pen all that does is tell you there's power some place near by.

Most likly it's a loose nutral wire someplace (the white wire).
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
Beckiec4 (10-20-2012)
Old 10-20-2012, 12:23 PM   #4
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

there is power according to the tester, but no power when you plug in the lamp?


The "tic testers" as you describe are not the most accurate.
Might think about getting a Volt-meter, big box stores have some at reasonable prices. Then check hot to ground, and hot to neutral.
My guess would be, with what you have described, you lost the neutral, from a loose connection.
Need a Volt meter to be sure.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gac66610 For This Useful Post:
Beckiec4 (10-20-2012)
Old 10-20-2012, 12:25 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Default

there is power according to the tester, but no power when you plug in the lamp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Then get your husband to borrow a real meter to test for voltage. Non-contact testers only tell you half the story. You need a circuit for electricity to work. The tester your husband has does not verify a complete circuit.
While he is asking to borrow a meter, maybe he can ask for some advice. I have never known anyone that does that many trades to not know how to actually check for a circuit.
I know of ZERO HVAC guys that could not do this simple task.
well, he is a journeyman sheetmetal worker for 24 years, I thought that was the same thing...apparently its not the same as an HVAC guy..I am wrong, (shh dont tell him I said that)
Beckiec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Default

there is power according to the tester, but no power when you plug in the lamp?


That kind of tester will beep so long as voltage is present, even if there's no circuit (complete path). One cause of this is a loose connection. Outlets are often wired in "daisy-chain" fashion, so a loose connection at one outlet will affect any outlets that follow it.

Try this procedure:
  • Identify all the outlets (and light fixtures, if any) that aren't working.
  • Try to determine which outlet is the "first"; that is, the outlet that is the first to receive power from the circuit breaker panel. Usually (but not always) this will be the outlet physically closest to the panel.
  • Turn the breaker for the living room OFF.
  • Starting at the other end of the outlet string (the one furthest from the panel), remove the outlet and disconnect the wires (probably a black and a white). Tape or wire nut the bare ends of the wires.
  • Turn the breaker back ON and see if the other outlets have power.
  • If not, leave the first outlet disconnected, move to the outlet next closest to the panel, and repeat the previous 3 steps.
  • Once you've found the outlet that causing the trouble, reattach the wires you disconnected (black to brass, white to silver, use the screw terminals, don't use the stab connectors on the back).
  • As you re-attach each outlet, test to make sure everything still works.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:39 PM   #7
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

there is power according to the tester, but no power when you plug in the lamp?


Beckie, a Wiggy type tester would not give false readings...and not a very expensive but necessary tool for electrical work. wiggy tester | eBay

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?

Last edited by Missouri Bound; 10-20-2012 at 07:42 PM.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (10-20-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post lamp power NAIL BENDER Electrical 18 12-22-2011 09:18 PM
Plug points in wall NicolaA Electrical 9 10-24-2011 02:07 AM
how to get power to lamp post from basement BlueBSH Electrical 4 08-18-2011 05:19 PM
How to get a switch to power ON/OFF a standing lamp? Metallo Electrical 8 02-14-2011 04:25 PM
GFI Plug Troubleshooting bryanchr Electrical 4 08-22-2008 05:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.