Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2013, 08:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,107
Rewards Points: 1,470
Default

Is There an Electrician Handy


I've found electrical work to be rather shocking at unannounced times so advice to myself is to ask the experts.

I have this push pull switch I'd like to use on my table saw that has a 120 volt single phase half horse motor. The switch reads -- Rating, 75 amps., 2-28 volts, DC - - sorry about the pic size but that's all the information on it. Will this work for my 120V half horse AC motor?
Attached Images
 

SeniorSitizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 08:25 PM   #2
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is There an Electrician Handy


Looks like it's only good for lower voltage DC, so it probably wouldn't be the best idea.

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 09:04 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,337
Rewards Points: 2,336
Default

Is There an Electrician Handy


You answered your own question, by reading what the switch body states on it, as to what kind of circuit that it can be used on. Also, doubt that it is 75 amps, but 3/4 of one amp, since it is only good for a 2-28 volt Direct Current circuit.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (02-14-2013)
Old 02-14-2013, 09:10 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,876
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

Is There an Electrician Handy


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fairview View Post
I have this push pull switch I'd like to use on my table saw that has a 120 volt single phase half horse motor.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fairview View Post
The switch reads -- Rating, 75 amps., 2-28 volts, DC - - sorry about the pic size but that's all the information on it. Will this work for my 120V half horse AC motor?
Sorry to sound rude, but you didn't even have to ask this question. You had your answer when you read the info on the switch.

That is an automotive/vehicle switch. Vehicles are typically 6-24V DC, hence the switch's rating.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 09:14 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,876
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

Is There an Electrician Handy


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Also, doubt that it is 75 amps, but 3/4 of one amp, since it is only good for a 2-28 volt Direct Current circuit.
It is 75A. I was surprised to see this also.

http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/de...0212&ppt=C0335
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 09:26 PM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,568
Rewards Points: 2,466
Default

Is There an Electrician Handy


Just so you understand, it's the material the contacts are made out of the determines the voltage rating. The arc you get with DC is different than AC....hence, the way the contacts are made and what they are made of is different.

Case in point.....using a relay intended for AC in a DC application can result in welded contacts very quickly.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 10:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,658
Rewards Points: 2,276
Default

Is There an Electrician Handy


It's probably 7.5 amps.

So no I would NOT use it for 120v ac !


your motor will need about 400w.
So you need a switch rated for minimum 4 amps at 120v.
Taking into account start up surge,
I would use a 10amp switch minimum.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:24 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is There an Electrician Handy


The switch you posted in the photo will not work with your useage.

You will need a 120 or 240 volt rated switch which it will be simauir to that and it have to be rated minuim of 10 amp.

Some of the big box store may carry this type of switch in correct voltage range so it should be there.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:08 AM   #9
Not A Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA (Cobb)
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is There an Electrician Handy


outlet box + your common everyday 15A wall light switch? $4 total?

or ... a foot switch

what exactly are you trying to 'rig up' with the push pull? to be able to bump the switch with your knee to turn it off?

kevinb70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
complicating-updating new box for client, electrician messed it up-pics included Kraze Electrical 29 11-18-2012 10:14 PM
Licensed Electrician or Not? taras1 Electrical 10 04-29-2011 07:23 PM
Do I Need to Call in a Electrician to Check This Work? taras1 Electrical 6 12-13-2010 06:07 PM
Effects of electrician tape on cable richard7994 Electrical 4 08-11-2010 09:39 AM
handling unsafe work by an electrician wuxingming57 Electrical 1 11-14-2009 08:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.