Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2009, 12:53 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Share |
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


400.8(6) Where installed in raceways - permitted

400.14 cords shall be protected when passing thru outlet boxes

Put in an outlet box with conduit - permitted
installation in raceways - permitted

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 01:06 PM   #32
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


If it's listed for that propose.

Think about it: can you wire up your house with "zip-cord" if you run it in conduit?

(Don't laugh, I've see it tried, at least for an individual branch circuit).

I'll stop now.
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 01:08 PM   #33
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


re: pic 'a' ... not to mention no COVER on the box even! *sheesh* lol

windowguy, i think it's still the best way for YOU in your particular case to do this.
running a cord around corners to the next room is just dumb, not to mention unsightly and unsafe.

best wishes and play safe!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 01:30 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 93
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


oh shoot, the TV isn't working... wait are those sparks? Quick unplug the tv. Where is the plug... In the next room?!? Who locked the door!?! LET ME IN I HAVE TO UNPLUG THE TV - ITS ON FIRE!

Granted many plugs in the same room are equally innaccesible behind entertainment centers but you should always strive to make things accessible in case you NEED to unplug it RIGHT NOW!

If you are willing to cut a hole in the wall, just figure out where the outlet in the next room is (either with a tape measure or more directly)... take the face plate off the outlet and use a thin stiff wire (like a coat hanger) slide it between the hole in the sheet rock and the OUTSIDE of the box. Push it through the wall cavety and use it to drill a hole in the sheet rock behind the TV. This tells you where the box is on the other side of the wall. Then you should be able to cut a hole for an "Old work" box and wire it to the existing outlet in the next room. there may be some requirement on how far away the boxes have to be apart (chime in if there is).
daxinarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 01:47 PM   #35
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,688
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
400.8(6) Where installed in raceways - permitted

400.14 cords shall be protected when passing thru outlet boxes

Put in an outlet box with conduit - permitted
installation in raceways - permitted
400.8(6) in my code book it states not to use in a raceway unless otherwise permitted in this code.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 02:18 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by daxinarian View Post
If you are willing to cut a hole in the wall, just figure out where the outlet in the next room is (either with a tape measure or more directly)... take the face plate off the outlet and use a thin stiff wire (like a coat hanger) slide it between the hole in the sheet rock and the OUTSIDE of the box. Push it through the wall cavety and use it to drill a hole in the sheet rock behind the TV. This tells you where the box is on the other side of the wall. Then you should be able to cut a hole for an "Old work" box and wire it to the existing outlet in the next room. there may be some requirement on how far away the boxes have to be apart (chime in if there is).
read again - it's 3' away
That means at least 1 stud in the way
The vast majority of my outlets are blocked by couches, chairs, desks, book cases etc. Saying you need to put an outlet where you can see it is rubbish
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 02:58 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 93
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
read again - it's 3' away
That means at least 1 stud in the way
Your right, I forgot that the point was to "Hide" the wires, not that the outlets were too far away

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
The vast majority of my outlets are blocked by couches, chairs, desks, book cases etc. Saying you need to put an outlet where you can see it is rubbish
(I am not saying that is wrong) I bet everytime you need to plug something in or unplug something it is a pain in the neck and might even include an invective or two (speaking from personal experience since my house is the same way.) I never said anything about being able to "see" the outlet. All I said was making things accesible should be a goal.

Putting it in the next room just seems to cross the line in terms of accesibility. Especially when there are alternatives (ie putting in a new outlet). Surely if you are willing to tolerate a pipe and some wires you could tolerate a little bit of sheetrock work on the office wall and/or behind the TV.
daxinarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 03:10 PM   #38
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


welp, my inspector just called back..... he laughed so hard.
oh yeah, he also said, "no way in hell" is that code nor would he pass it as anything.
but he also added he's seen FAR worse! stay safe...

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 03:23 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


Interesting
Every computer room I have worked in has these installed in the floor. Power cables are plugged in under the raised floor thru the "hole" in the floor


Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 04:25 PM   #40
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


That's allowed because it's not a "hole in the floor", it's a UL listed floor box cover; it meets UL listing for this purpose when installed in compliance with the manufacture's installation instructions.

If - as I did at one time - you do a lot of "one-off" stuff involving components not normally seen in residential construction , you make it a habit to have the instructions there for the inspector. And it it's downright weird, you have the appropriate UL information or whatever on site, or better yet you submit it along with with the prints to the plan examiner, and he or she marks it as OK on the your stamped copy, which is then kept on-site for the inspector to review.

----------

Home Inspection: "A business with illogically high liability, slim profit margins and limited economies of scale. An incredibly diverse, multi-disciplined consulting service, delivered under difficult in-field circumstances, before a hostile audience in an impossibly short time frame, requiring the production of an extraordinarily detailed technical report, almost instantly, without benefit of research facilities or resources." - Alan Carson

Last edited by Michael Thomas; 02-27-2009 at 04:38 PM.
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 04:39 PM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 144
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by daxinarian View Post
oh shoot, the TV isn't working... wait are those sparks? Quick unplug the tv. Where is the plug... In the next room?!? Who locked the door!?! LET ME IN I HAVE TO UNPLUG THE TV - ITS ON FIRE!

Granted many plugs in the same room are equally innaccesible behind entertainment centers but you should always strive to make things accessible in case you NEED to unplug it RIGHT NOW!

If you are willing to cut a hole in the wall, just figure out where the outlet in the next room is (either with a tape measure or more directly)... take the face plate off the outlet and use a thin stiff wire (like a coat hanger) slide it between the hole in the sheet rock and the OUTSIDE of the box. Push it through the wall cavety and use it to drill a hole in the sheet rock behind the TV. This tells you where the box is on the other side of the wall. Then you should be able to cut a hole for an "Old work" box and wire it to the existing outlet in the next room. there may be some requirement on how far away the boxes have to be apart (chime in if there is).
I think what your suggestion is to do is to create another box right? the problem is the outlet is 3 feet to the left of the TV in the other room. I have 2 sets of studs to go through to go side-to-side to get to that box. If the hole i want to make was in the same stud cavity as the outlet then of course i would make the outlet. Since i have to go through 2 studs to get the the cavity of the TV i would need to open up the sheetrock. (and i can't fish it up into an attic or something, its the basement.
windowguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 05:21 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Interesting
Every computer room I have worked in has these installed in the floor. Power cables are plugged in under the raised floor thru the "hole" in the floor



Actually these are supplied by the AC company to change the air flow. But they are used to route wire also. I seriously doubt the AC company had them UL rated. And in many cases there are simply holes in the floor cut out to allow power cables to be plugged in
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 06:25 PM   #43
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Actually these are supplied by the AC company to change the air flow. But they are used to route wire also. I seriously doubt the AC company had them UL rated. And in many cases there are simply holes in the floor cut out to allow power cables to be plugged in
My bad - I assumed that was some sort of cover for a UL listed floor service box:



which are listed and intended to supply AC receptacle connections at raised floors.

If that's a HVAC diffuser, I don't know if you are allowed to run data-com cableing throght it, but you can't run plug connected AC power cords through it.
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 06:47 PM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


That's a nice setup, slotted for cable access
I've actually never seen one of those in any of the computer rooms I've been in. Power drops were all on flexible cable so that they could be moved anywhere needed. Same with Data runs, made for a real mess under the floor
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 07:18 PM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Default

is there a distinction between "in-wall" vs "through wall" ?


Your passing up a great chance to practice taping. From the office side, not concerned with how it looks, cut a section out from stud to stud. do your electrical, put your cut-out section back in place and tape it up.

__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.