Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2011, 06:40 PM   #16
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,682
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Quote:
Originally Posted by njchen24 View Post
I am located in NJ. Profile has been updated.
North or SOuth?

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 06:53 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ NORTH
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


[QUOTE=brric;703441]
Quote:
Originally Posted by GottaFixIt View Post
.

What are you running that's blowing the 30a circuit?

The whole apartment is on one 30 amp feeder.
I am running a plasma TV + Receiver, 2 AC (8000 & 6000 BTU), 3 Tower fan , Desktop PC, Light. The consumption is respectively 6.3A, 7A, 5,5A, .6A X3, 2A, .3A and measured by Kill a watt P4400 Model. I switch both AC to fan only if using the Microwave 12A for several minutes.

I also try to measure the load at the main panel with and Extech clamp on device and it measures between 20 - 24.5A. The Circuit breaker get warm over time below the switch area and trip at around 21A after an hour or so. It seems that while I leave the panel open to do the measurement, the circuit breaker doesn't trip after an hour.
njchen24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 07:20 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ NORTH
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


I would like to thank all of you for your valuable input and comment. I do apologize for not being able to provide all your question in a timely manner. I have been in and out of the Dr. office and the PC must be turned off to avoid the overheat of the circuit breaker. Today, my appart isn't too hot so I can manage to lower the AC usage.

Anyway, some pictures of the apartment electrical are posted here if you are interested.

Jackofall1:

What do you think of this datalogger MA-16544? The device measuring rate is from 1s to 24h. So I think that it would be possible to get a reading before the trip. As for the accuracy of the load, I would compare its reading to a known calibrated Extech clamp on device.
njchen24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 09:08 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,594
Rewards Points: 2,148
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


A clamp on meter with an hold function will do nicely.
But a data logger will give you so much more infomation,
Like trends and problem periods.
It all depends on what you are prepared to spend.
Please let us know what the out come is ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 09:23 PM   #20
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


The "data logger" you are looking at has a resolution of 1 sec to 24 hrs, as there is 60 cycles per second I doubt very much you will have the reading resolution to capture the amps at the time of a breaker trip.

You will however capture the trend leading up to the event. As breakers are typically rated for overload protection sustained for 1-1/2 cycles you would need a data logger with a similar resolution.

Mark

__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
creating door in possible load bearing wall acerunner Building & Construction 6 07-05-2010 04:33 PM
Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous Mont@n@ Electrical 9 03-06-2010 11:49 AM
More Accurate Load Calculation zootjeff HVAC 9 12-14-2009 12:06 AM
Wire sizes based on actual connected load BigJimmy Electrical 7 08-21-2007 08:30 PM
% total roof load on interior bearing wall? Grommet Building & Construction 1 03-29-2007 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.