Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2011, 04:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ NORTH
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Greetings:

Is there a device that can accurately measure the actual load at the counter where the main panel and a single 30A circuit breaker is? I would like to know precisely at what amp value the circuit breaker tripped.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

njchen24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 06:35 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,544
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Where are you located? I don't think you're in the U.S. Can you update your profile with your location?

mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 10:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,442
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Clamp on amp meters are readily available,
the price depends on the quality,
http ://www.google.com.au/searchtbm=isch&hl=en&source=hp&biw=1280&bih=630&q= clamp+on+amp+meter&gbv=2&oq=clamp+on+amp+meter&aq= f&aqi=g1&aql=&gs_sm=e&gs_upl=2344l7750l0l9094l18l1 8l0l7l7l0l500l2578l2-1.4.1.1l7l0
If you paste this into your browser, you can see one.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
GottaFixIt (08-09-2011)
Old 08-07-2011, 10:45 PM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,666
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


If you want to monitor the load over a length of time you will need a chart recorder.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 04:18 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ NORTH
Posts: 11
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
Where are you located? I don't think you're in the U.S. Can you update your profile with your location?
I am located in NJ. Profile has been updated.
njchen24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 04:22 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ NORTH
Posts: 11
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Clamp on amp meters are readily available,
the price depends on the quality,
http ://www.google.com.au/searchtbm=isch&hl=en&source=hp&biw=1280&bih=630&q= clamp+on+amp+meter&gbv=2&oq=clamp+on+amp+meter&aq= f&aqi=g1&aql=&gs_sm=e&gs_upl=2344l7750l0l9094l18l1 8l0l7l7l0l500l2578l2-1.4.1.1l7l0
If you paste this into your browser, you can see one.
I paste the above link into my browser and see my post. What price range should I focus on? Let say that there is a $40 and $80, which one best fit my application?
njchen24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 05:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,442
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Quote:
Originally Posted by njchen24 View Post
I paste the above link into my browser and see my post. What price range should I focus on? Let say that there is a $40 and $80, which one best fit my application?
As I live on the other side of the world ( down under )
I am not familair with your retail enviroments,
If you look around your area, perhaps do a google search
you will find there are probably many available,
If you find too many, narrow them down,
then ask for help with the final choice.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:04 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ NORTH
Posts: 11
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
If you want to monitor the load over a length of time you will need a chart recorder.
Can a chart recorder measure the load right the moment that the circuit breaker triped? Can you recommend one?
njchen24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:19 PM   #9
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Quote:
Originally Posted by njchen24 View Post
Can a chart recorder measure the load right the moment that the circuit breaker triped? Can you recommend one?
A chart recorder on the less expensive end is between $2,000 & $3,000, an amp probe / clamp-on will not give you an accurate reading of amps at the moment a breaker is tripping, especially if the load is momentary.

What is it you think is drawing to much current and tripping the breaker?

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:37 PM   #10
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,666
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Quote:
Originally Posted by njchen24
Can a chart recorder measure the load right the moment that the circuit breaker triped? Can you recommend one?
A chart recorder will chart thecurrent over time. Check Ideal, Amprobe, Klein Tools to name a few.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 08:23 PM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackofall1 View Post
A chart recorder on the less expensive end is between $2,000 & $3,000, an amp probe / clamp-on will not give you an accurate reading of amps at the moment a breaker is tripping, especially if the load is momentary.

What is it you think is drawing to much current and tripping the breaker?

Mark
Is it possible to change Circuit breaker to Buss fuse socket type?

Remember this thread?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 08:40 PM   #12
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post

Interesting, very interesting indeed. Now I understand completely. Could be a loose connection to the main breaker thats where I would first look.

But AC units cause a fair amount of inrush when the compressor cycles.
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jackofall1 For This Useful Post:
GottaFixIt (08-09-2011)
Old 08-08-2011, 08:53 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 146
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Some multimeters(with clamps) have a hold feature that will register the highest reading. Not really ideal for long term monitoring, but if you know what's causing it, you can check the high load that way.

What are you running that's blowing the 30a circuit?

Often its a poor connections somewhere that causes a voltage loss and blows the breaker. I'd check the voltage at the load as well.
GottaFixIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 06:38 AM   #14
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


[quote=GottaFixIt;703276].

What are you running that's blowing the 30a circuit?

The whole apartment is on one 30 amp feeder.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
GottaFixIt (08-09-2011)
Old 08-09-2011, 07:22 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 146
Default

Is there a device that can measure the actual load at your counter?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
The whole apartment is on one 30 amp feeder.
Well that explains it

GottaFixIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
creating door in possible load bearing wall acerunner Building & Construction 6 07-05-2010 04:33 PM
Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous Mont@n@ Electrical 9 03-06-2010 11:49 AM
More Accurate Load Calculation zootjeff HVAC 9 12-14-2009 12:06 AM
Wire sizes based on actual connected load BigJimmy Electrical 7 08-21-2007 08:30 PM
% total roof load on interior bearing wall? Grommet Building & Construction 1 03-29-2007 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.