Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 08:43 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Share |
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


Say I have a series of power outlets that is permanent (ex: in a wall, or otherwise installed on part of the structure) is there anything that states I cannot feed it from a plug end? What I want to do is install a bank of power outlets for my server rack, basically I am framing the server rack in place and will add cable management as well as power outlets right into that structure. However rather than feed it straight off an electrical panel I want to feed it through UPS, surge protectors, etc, so I'll probably have like 4 separate circuits leading to 4 plug ends. They will be using heavy duty 12 awg extension cord wire coming out of the last junction box. From a safety point of view it will be fine, just wondering about code.

Also any minimum height for electrical in a basement? Idealy the last junction box will be rather low, maybe a foot off the floor. I do know I can't have more than 12 outlets per circuit, so I'll be sure to follow that.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 08:50 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Say I have a series of power outlets that is permanent (ex: in a wall, or otherwise installed on part of the structure) is there anything that states I cannot feed it from a plug end? What I want to do is install a bank of power outlets for my server rack, basically I am framing the server rack in place and will add cable management as well as power outlets right into that structure. However rather than feed it straight off an electrical panel I want to feed it through UPS, surge protectors, etc, so I'll probably have like 4 separate circuits leading to 4 plug ends. They will be using heavy duty 12 awg extension cord wire coming out of the last junction box. From a safety point of view it will be fine, just wondering about code.

Also any minimum height for electrical in a basement? Idealy the last junction box will be rather low, maybe a foot off the floor. I do know I can't have more than 12 outlets per circuit, so I'll be sure to follow that.
I don't know of a plug end that is listed for NM wire.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:00 PM   #3
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I don't know of a plug end that is listed for NM wire.
Oh I'd use extension cord wire. It would be wire nutted to the NM inside the junction box. Or it would probably just come straight off the secondary outlet screw. Though wire nutting is probably the best bet.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:16 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


"Extension cords are listed for temporary use"
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:44 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


Does it count as an extension cord though? Just trying to find a way to make this as legal as possible. I guess the other option is a bigger UPS that has an option to hard wire, but not ready to spend that kind of money yet.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:46 PM   #6
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 700
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


In NEC land, you wouldn't be allowed to use the cord inside a wall. Or any 'permanent' installation
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:48 PM   #7
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,596
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


400.8 (Uses not permitted) comes to mind.

1) As a substitute for the fixed wiring of a structure.

2) Where run through holes in walls, structural ceilings, suspended ceilings, dropped ceilings or floors.

3) Where run through doorways, windows or similar openings.

4) Where attached to building surfaces.

5) Where concealed by walls, floors, or ceilings or located above suspended or dropped ceilings.

Edit; you'd likely be able to use 400.7(8) (uses permitted) Appliances where the fastening means and mechanical connections are specifically designed to permit ready removal for maintenance and repair and the appliance is intended or identified for flexible cord connections.

Last edited by micromind; 01-27-2013 at 10:53 PM.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:49 AM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


Don''t use and actual extension cord. Use the proper cabtire.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:35 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 594
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


You need a proper PDU (power distribution unit) for your rack. This is essentially a power strip that is listed for a permanent installation. You should install receptacles for each circuit for its intended purpose (surge protected, UPS protected and unprotected) and plug the appropriate PDU and/or UPS into it. If what you're saying is that you will have a UPS inline with the circuit, you still need to bring it to a proper receptacle and use a PDU.

In the real world, we know that PDUs are expensive, and that you'll probably buy one of those long metal power strips that mount to the wall. Unless otherwise marked, these are usually listed as a "temporary power tap" and thus not for permanent installation. Please keep that in mind, and I won't tell anyone :-P
operagost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:50 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


How about something like this?...

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:44 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


That would be the proper solution.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:35 PM   #12
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


Yeah I know about PDUs but for what I want to do I'd need like 6 of em. VERY expensive! (I want 6 separate "circuits" ex: some may be on one specific UPS, some on another and so on).

The inlet seems like a good idea, think I'll go with that. Just the thing of finding a place here that will sell those.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:34 PM   #13
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,515
Default

Is there anything wrong with adding a plug end on permanent electrical?


Google MIDLITE 4642
If all else fails, order them from Amazon.

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
Anything wrong with putting an electrical box in a kitchen cupboard beech Electrical 8 10-05-2009 05:24 AM
Unpolarised US Type 2 Plug to UK Plug. razorcut Electrical 19 05-18-2009 09:49 AM
Wrong plug alpercata Electrical 4 12-31-2008 03:46 PM
Wrong plug? alpercata Electrical 6 12-30-2008 10:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.