Testing Station - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2010, 04:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: swansea
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Testing Station


Hi,
I am trying to wire up a testing station. It will test 8 washing machines at once.
If I use a consumer unit with 4 separate mcb's (4 double sockets) which size mcb's do I need?

The washers are normal household 13 amp 240v washers.

Also, with this loading which size cable should I run to the consumer unit.
thanks
Fred

Advertisement

budget888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 07:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Testing Station


Quote:
Originally Posted by budget888 View Post
Hi,
I am trying to wire up a testing station. It will test 8 washing machines at once.
If I use a consumer unit with 4 separate mcb's (4 double sockets) which size mcb's do I need?

The washers are normal household 13 amp 240v washers.
Since when is a 240v washer normal ?
I've never had one
Are these combo washer/dryers ?

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 07:38 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Testing Station


If you intended to say the washers are 13 amp 120 volt...

If you are testing, then to be scientific, I should think you would want the same electrical supply as in a home...

8 separate 20 amp breakers.
8 separate GFCI outlets.
1 washer to each GFCI.

12 gauge wiring to each. Separate wiring to each outlet. [No shared neutrals (no multi-wire branch circuits)].
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 07:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Testing Station


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Since when is a 240v washer normal ?
I've never had one
Are these combo washer/dryers ?
It is when the OP is from Wales.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 07:46 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Testing Station


Yup, UK according to the IP...I was thinking Swansea MA
So (8) 20a 240v circuits
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 08:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Testing Station


Re: Wales... GFCI = RCD (Or whatever would be in a typical home).

RCD...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Residual-current_device
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 08:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Unhappy

Testing Station


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Since when is a 240v washer normal ?
I've never had one
Are these combo washer/dryers ?
Still, in the Good Ol' USA and in Canada (to the best of my knowledge), a washer runs on 120v. The dryer (if heated by electric heating elements, is 240v.) to the OP!

Advertisement

spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backflow device testing - possible scam? ScottR Plumbing 9 06-14-2009 11:55 AM
Testing circuit with GFCI protection Hodag Electrical 4 09-15-2008 11:43 PM
Testing DC Rze Electrical 3 09-15-2007 10:02 AM
Testing for a gas leak haynesk Plumbing 2 07-27-2007 08:11 PM
Testing Formss Deano710Sparkey Electrical 2 04-13-2007 02:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts