Testing Start And Run Capacitors - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2013, 08:25 AM   #1
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

testing start and run capacitors


How can I check if 220 volt start and run capacitors are functioning?

Advertisement

__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 08:28 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,025
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

testing start and run capacitors


You really can't without special test equipment that is not cheap. You'd be better off to just replace them.

Advertisement

md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 08:38 AM   #3
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

testing start and run capacitors


I have fluke meter and have done it before just can't remember how.
__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:39 AM   #4
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 194
Default

testing start and run capacitors


What kind of a Fluke? Can it test for capacitance?
mm11 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 10:18 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,025
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

testing start and run capacitors


Quote:
Originally Posted by mm11 View Post
What kind of a Fluke? Can it test for capacitance?
I'd be very surprised if it could.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 11:54 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

testing start and run capacitors


http://www.teknetelectronics.com/Pics/WEBFLUKE110.jpg

I have one of these Fluke 110 in my collection that tests capacitance. Have it for that reason. Very inexpensive.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wirenut1110 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (06-07-2013)
Old 06-07-2013, 01:26 PM   #7
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

testing start and run capacitors


Surprisingly I actually own 2 pictures attached.

testing start and run capacitors-forumrunner_20130607_122542.jpg



Name:  ForumRunner_20130607_122555.jpg
Views: 51
Size:  35.3 KB
Attached Thumbnails
testing start and run capacitors-forumrunner_20130607_122412.jpg  
Attached Images
 
__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 03:44 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

testing start and run capacitors


What you have will not check capacitance.

You can test the caps in the ohms position.
Touch the leads to each terminal, then swap the leads.
You may see the cap charge and discharge, but this is not a real test to see if they are any good.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 05:56 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,719
Rewards Points: 2,398
Default

testing start and run capacitors


To properly test capacitors you need to test three things,
1 - capacitance.
2 - esr (equivelent series resistance).
3 - leakage.

1 - If you are lucky you might have or get a capacitance meter.
2 - esr meters are available, but mostly only electronic repairers
will have these types of testers.
3- A MEGGAR style type tester is used by electricains.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:20 PM   #10
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

testing start and run capacitors


Think I'll just bring them to shop for testing
__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:26 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,413
Rewards Points: 824
Default

testing start and run capacitors


Capacitors will check good or bad using ohms scale but they might not be in the + or - % the capacitor needs to be in tolerence for the motor.I have Flukes with cap setting and a Kappy tester.

Advertisement

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
220 volt , capacitors , test


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts