Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2007, 10:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Terminating two lines in one box


I just bought a place from 1957 and am doing a bit of rewiring. Currently, two bedrooms and a bathroom as well as the fridge are on one circuit. I've rewired the bathroom so it shares a circuit with the kitchen, and the bedrooms (as well as the fridge) are on a circuit they share. I've got limited options because the basement is finished off, though when I come to redo that in a couple of years I plan to upgrade the service to the house at the same time. So, I'm more worried about safety aspects to this question.

My question is this - I have a wire being fed from a finished section to the bathroom that is live. I don't need it anymore, because I ran all new wiring for the bathroom (as we've pulled down all the drywall in it for renos). Can I terminate the original feed in the same box I've used for my fan/light switch? My plan would be to single marrette the neutral and hot, and ground the line to the box.

Here's a quick diagram, as best is possible:


Code:
----live 110 (new)----------->|------- |
            <-----to fan------|-^  ^   |
          <-----to light------|----|   |
----live 110 (old)----------->| (term) |

phantoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 10:26 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Terminating two lines in one box


Yes. Put wire nuts on the ends of the wire, make sure they are tight, and put in the back of the box.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 12:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Terminating two lines in one box


When do you hope to correct the installation mistakes you mentioned.

Fridge....seperate circuit!

Bath and Kitchen on same circuit?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 02:05 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Terminating two lines in one box


jbfan: thanks!
j.v.: looks like at least a year before we can gut the kitchen. The kitchen will see a host of changes, and at that time I'll stick the bathroom on its own circuit. Fridge will definatly be by itself!

thanks again...
phantoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attaching water lines to floor joists handyflyer Plumbing 8 04-30-2007 10:43 AM
new water lines JahDoos Plumbing 11 02-22-2007 09:43 PM
air in water lines chattiechick Plumbing 2 11-01-2006 12:36 PM
Old Water Supply Lines in Kitchen and Bath Faucets skittlzski Plumbing 2 08-08-2006 09:13 AM
increasing washer supply lines to 3/4" instead of 1/2" amatchin Plumbing 3 04-15-2006 04:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.