Terminating Active Cable In Renovation - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2011, 09:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Question

terminating active cable in renovation


i was wondering what the proper way to terminate an active cable during renovations is. e.g. when you renovate half the house and the cable starts at a box in the non-renovated part so you don't have an easy way of knowing which box it is and it's coming out in the renovated part but you no longer need it to go further. is it acceptable to just terminate it in a junction box or can you even just strip the cable and put connectors over each wire?

Advertisement

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 09:29 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,015
Rewards Points: 2,828
Default

terminating active cable in renovation


I am assuming you are refering to an electrical cable, you can either blank it off in a permanently accessible junction box with a blank cover, or you can remove both ends from the boxes and abandon the cable.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (05-16-2011)
Old 05-16-2011, 09:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

terminating active cable in renovation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I am assuming you are refering to an electrical cable, you can either blank it off in a permanently accessible junction box with a blank cover, or you can remove both ends from the boxes and abandon the cable.
of course the latter is preferable but is not an option because i don't know where it starts (and don't feel like testing).
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 10:20 PM   #4
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

terminating active cable in renovation


You can't leave an unterminated cable. It will need to be in an accessible junction box. Is this cable live? If yes, I would just make a receptacle out of it if the wall is open and you can move it to a decent spot.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Red Squirrel For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (05-16-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 09:21 PM
Effects of electrician tape on cable richard7994 Electrical 4 08-11-2010 09:39 AM
Terminating an unused cable acerunner Electrical 6 03-24-2010 06:32 PM
Cable question tommy_vercetti Home Theater 15 09-26-2009 10:10 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 03:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts