Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2011, 09:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Temporary Breaker Box


For my new house construction I would like to have an outside temporary breaker box. The house will be feed by a 200 amp service with 4/0 underground cable. 200 amp outside breaker boxes are expensive. I only need a 50-100 amp breaker box during construction; however, I cannot attach 4/0 cable to these smaller breaker boxes, they wont handle cable that big. Is there anyway to setup a smaller breaker box with this size cable?

i_need_help is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 10:21 AM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Temporary Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by i_need_help View Post
For my new house construction I would like to have an outside temporary breaker box. The house will be feed by a 200 amp service with 4/0 underground cable. 200 amp outside breaker boxes are expensive. I only need a 50-100 amp breaker box during construction; however, I cannot attach 4/0 cable to these smaller breaker boxes, they wont handle cable that big. Is there anyway to setup a smaller breaker box with this size cable?
You can get a small 200A outside panel pretty cheap. You could even leave it mounted on the outside of your house. (the panel/panels in the house will be sub panels) If you do that will be your bonding point.

*I think the same box that you use on the (pole) temp service should be able to go onto the house for permanent service.

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.

Last edited by jamiedolan; 02-14-2011 at 11:11 AM.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 10:21 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Temporary Breaker Box


The way we do it, is to build a temporary pole with panel and disconnect. The power company will connect you up until the house is ready to be connected. Call the power company and ask them about the temporary pole.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
GFCI breaker trips randomly BimmerRacer Electrical 40 09-21-2009 02:11 PM
I can "double" the wires to each breaker in my breaker panel right? Piedmont Electrical 40 10-01-2008 11:18 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.