Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2009, 06:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Share |
Default

Telephone splice connectors


Does anyone have a source for 4 wire telephone splice connectors/IDC type? I'm working behind an electrician that apparently did not understand the "home run" concept. He ran a UTP to the the first telephone jack and ran two wires from that location to other outlets. I have to use a keystone jack at this first location so the jack can only accept one wire. I really don't want to strip and crimp with an insulated crimp but that's looking like the only option right now.

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 10:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: WV
Posts: 64
Default

Telephone splice connectors


If you don't mind buying online you might try here, http://www.onestopbuy.com/

Don't know if they'll have what you're looking for, but they've got a lot.

oscarMadison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 11:25 PM   #3
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Telephone splice connectors


I would just twist the wires together and tape them. It's just phone...
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 11:16 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,328
Default

Telephone splice connectors


Do these need to accept 4 wires or are you just splicing a 4 wire cable?

Scotchlock makes UR3 connectors that should work for what you want but they only accept 3 wires.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 12:28 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Telephone splice connectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
I would just twist the wires together and tape them. It's just phone...
it's not wise to think this anymore. DSL is so common that you should consider the possibility that the line may be used for a DSL connection.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 07:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Telephone splice connectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Do these need to accept 4 wires or are you just splicing a 4 wire cable?

Scotchlock makes UR3 connectors that should work for what you want but they only accept 3 wires.
I have the three wire Ideal ones. I would have needed four wire ones for what I intended to do. But, I ended up using a regular wall plate that had screw terminals. I was able to land all three wires on the screws and everything worked out.

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions of Ideal push-in wire connectors Bigplanz Electrical 62 07-03-2014 10:29 PM
Testing Home Telephone Line kirridam Electrical 4 08-02-2009 07:39 PM
to splice or not to splice treedoc Electrical 4 01-19-2008 10:56 PM
Twin Impeller Shower Pump Connectors snowman23 Plumbing 1 11-11-2007 04:33 AM
Splice box/s between subpanel and main panel? SeanR Electrical 5 05-06-2007 02:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.