Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2004, 10:08 PM   #1
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Telephone line static without external filters installed


I just bought a new home. The phone line seems to have somekind of interferece with it. When I hook up my pole phone you can hear the distortion and static happening. All the phones plugged into the walljacks have a filter plugged into it first then the phone. Does anyone know how to or a way to narrow down on the static coming from the phone lines running in the house without using the filters. When the filters aren't used there seems to be a big static coming in on the line so bad that you can bearly hear anything else. Is there a way to get rid of the static? What causes it? bad ground perhaps?? What can I do.

  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 03:25 AM   #2
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Telephone line static without external filters installed


The grounds for your electical service, phone, cable and/or satellite system should all be tied together. Problem could also be caused by phone wire running parallel and in close proximity to power cables.

  Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 12:15 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Telephone line static without external filters installed


I'd call the phone company. Better yet, start with your builder.
Neil_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 12:41 AM   #4
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Telephone line static without external filters installed


Neil's right, back to the GC first on a new home, he'll figure out if it's the phone co. or not (I doubt that it is). I'm still trying to figure out the filter thing, I'm thinking that someone was trying to patch a problem.
If the GC doesn't respond to your satisfaction let me know, this is the stuff that my wife does (BellSouth, Avaya, Lucent and on and on). I can get answers from their techs, I have to ask about the filters anyway as I install basic systems on yachts and this is need to know for me.
Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 08:54 AM   #5
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Telephone line static without external filters installed


I'm sorry, When I said new home I meant new home to me. The house was built in 1928. The cordless phone, I'm sure has it's own noise filter built in but the some of the other phones don't. There was some small noise filters plugged into the jacks. I didn't use them at first until I plugged some of the phones in and heard the distortion louder then the dial tone. Then I plugged the filter in before the phone and it went away.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 01:38 PM   #6
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Telephone line static without external filters installed


Plan A; Call the phone company and be certain that it is not their problem. If you're real nice to the tech he may help you isolate the problem in your house. A Jackson or two makes a great inducement.
Plan B; Ask around and you can most likely find a friend of a friend that works for the phone co. and does sidework.

Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.